LOTTERY WINNERS join forces with indie icon LOUISE WENER for bittersweet earworm single ‘Bad Things’

LOTTERY WINNERS join forces with indie icon LOUISE WENER for bittersweet earworm single 'Bad Things'

Joyfully rattled by a brush with international fame thanks to the viral sensation that was their sea shanty version of Nickelback’s Rockstar’, the irrepressibly upbeat and endlessly industrious Greater Manchester four-piece, Lottery Winners return with Sleeper’s Louise Wener to release Bad Things. Deep thinkers wrapped in the bubblegum shine of pure pop, the band’s R’n’B-scented single is an affecting and appropriately-timed moment of reflection on where everyone’s luck lies. Or doesn’t.

Having been just one of the thousands of bands and artists contained by the absence of live music, the band also look to September 2021 for a return to the stage, announcing a rescheduled run of dates that starts in Brighton on Wed 1 September and ends with their landmark, homecoming date at Manchester’s O2 Ritz at the end of that month.

Their second feature from the upcoming Start Again EP, having released Start Again with Frank Turner in January, the track follows a hectic and bracigly successful New Year. Not only did Start Again hit the airwaves, but THAT ocean-going, Tik Tok cover with Nickelback made headlines around the world after the Canadian rock legends spotted guitarist, Robert Lally, playing around on the app. He has since uploaded his takes on Liam Gallagher singing Coldplay and The Cure covering Neil Diamond.

Having scored era-defining hits during Britpop’s peak, Sleeper needs no introduction. The voice that propelled singles like Sale Of The Century and What Do I Do Now? Louise Wener joins Lottery Winners’ frontman, Thom Rylance and bassist/vocalist Katie Lloyd on joint vocals on the fresh, beats-driven single. Rylance wrote the introspective lyrics following an ominous encounter with a person who left him with nothing other than the song. Having toured together in happier days in 2018, Wener required little convincing to get on board.

She says: “I’ve loved this band since we first toured with them. In the darkest, most dismal days of lockdown their online performances have been a ray of musical light. Funny, sweet, cool and important all at the same time. It was a joy to guest on this track – a pared-back and beautiful song. Full of heart with their trademark lyrical bite and twist.”

Watch ‘Bad Things ft. Sleeper’s Louise Wener – BELOW:

Looking firmly ahead to brighter, louder and more celebratory times with their fans, Lottery Winners’ rearranged 2021 UK Tour dates are as follows:

  • Wed 1 Sep          Brighton, The Prince Albert
  • Thu 2 Sep            Southampton, Joiners
  • Fri 3 Sep               Birmingham, The Castle & Falcon
  • Sun 5 Sep            Nottingham, Bodega
  • Tue 7 Sep            Bristol, Thekla
  • Wed 8 Sep          Leeds, The Key Club
  • Thu 9 Sep            Blackpool, Bootleg Social
  • Fri 10 Sep            Wigan, The Boulevard
  • Sat 11 Sep           Stoke, The Sugarmill
  • Thu 23 Sep          London, Oslo
  • Sat 25 Sep           Manchester, The Ritz
  • Thu 30 Sep          Sheffield, The Leadmill

Tickets for all dates will be available from Fri 19 February 2021 with more information for existing ticket holders and booking links available via and the band’s social media.

At the end of 2020, in response to the COVID-19 pandemic’s impact on musicians and fellow creatives of all creeds, Lottery Winners released An Open Letter To Creatives, an impassioned plea for everyone with art in their heart to never give up. Originating from a letter-to-self at a moment of deep personal doubt, the track will re-appear alongside Start Again on the forthcoming EP of the same name.

Lottery Winners, formed of Thom Rylance (vocals/guitar), Robert Lally (guitar/vocals), Katie Lloyd (bass/vocals), and Joe Singleton (drums), released their debut, self-titled album at the start of 2020, reaching Number 23 on the UK Official Album Chart, having steadily grown from their home in Leigh, Greater Manchester to become on of the UK’s most vibrant touring bands. They worked tirelessly in the absence of live shows and released Sounds Of Isolation, a covers album including The Smiths’ There Is A Light That Never Goes Out and Fleetwood Mac’s Dreams with full orchestral backing.

With tour dates being postponed, Lottery Winners also busied themselves with their own TV series, LWTV, with special guest appearances from heroes including Rick Astley, Jamie Cullum and Happy Mondays’ Rowetta.

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.