JÓNSI announces ‘Shiver’ his first solo album in a decade - out 2nd October 2020

JÓNSI announces ‘Shiver’ his first solo album in a decade - out 2nd October 2020 2

Jónsi Birgisson, multidisciplinary artist and frontman of Sigur Rós, proudly announces ‘Shiver’, his first solo album in a decade, out 2nd October 2020 on Krunk. The new album features acclaimed vocalists Elizabeth Fraser (of the Cocteau Twins) and Robyn, as well as production by PC Music founder A.G. Cook.

A new song from the record, “Swill” is out now alongside a video by photographer & filmmaker Barnaby Roper and animated by Pandagunda.

Watch the video for “Swill” - BELOW:

Jónsi has made a career on sweeping music that plumbed the depths of the human experience and our connection to the natural world. With his multi-million selling, award-winning band Sigur Rós, he transmuted the rugged terrain of Iceland into music that sounds pure, organic and untouched by the modern world, even as it exists comfortably within it. A. G. Cook’s production exists at the opposite end of the spectrum: synthetic, sometimes abrasive, and often on the cutting edge of experimentalism. On paper, their collaboration is surprising, but Shiver is a beautiful record that pushes Jónsi’s otherworldly voice into startling new territories.


Jónsi – Shiver Album Tracklisting

1. Exhale

2. Shiver

3. Cannibal (with Elizabeth Fraser)

4. Wildeye

5. Sumarið Sem Aldrei Kom

6. Kórall

7. Salt Licorice (with Robyn)

8. Hold

9. Swill

10. Grenade

11. Beautiful Boy

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.