Irish synth artists TINY MAGNETIC PETS announce new album ‘Re-Mix/Re-Model’

Tiny Magnetic Pets

Anyone with their ear to the ground in the electronic music world will already know Tiny Magnetic Pets, the Irish synth artists who have collaborated with Wolfgang Flür (Kraftwerk), supported Michael Rother (NEU!) & The Killers’ Dave Keuning live and toured extensively with Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark on their UK & German tours in 2017 & 2019, Midge Ure on his 2019/20 Vienna/Visage European & UK tours as well as two successful headline tours of the UK, also in 2018 & 2019.

Tiny Magnetic Pet’s new album ‘Re-Mix/Re-Model’ is exactly that: re-mixes by Vince Clarke, Nick Reach Up, Spatial Awareness, DJ John Gibbons, Pokrasse, Bowsie, Workings Of A Mad Man, Outernationale plus 2022 ‘re-models’ of previous album tracks.

The idea for ‘Re-Mix/Re-Model’ came about when TMP were lucky enough to have their single ‘Automation’ (from last year’s ‘Blue Wave’ album) re-mixed by none other than Depeche Mode/Erasure legend Vince Clarke which saw the maestro turn the radio-friendly dancefloor pop level all the way up to 11. The second remix of the same track – a deliciously disco Nick Reach Up re-mix hit the dancefloor hard with its swooping Studio 54 string stabs and pulsating bass. At the same time, TMP had been reworking some deeper album cuts for the live arena and decided to compile these with recent remixes by some of their favourite artists & DJs into an album.

As with all their studio albums, the tracks on ‘Re-Mix/Re-Model’ are sequenced to take the listener on a trip – and what a trip it is! From the aforementioned Vince Clarke mix of ‘Automation’, hard electro disco of Outernationale’s RMX of “Radio On” featuring Kraftwerk’s Wolfgang Flür robotically chanting the mantra “War/Joy/Dance/Fashion” over a thumping synth/sequencer groove or DJ John Gibbons’ dancefloor banger ‘Radio On’ RMX which drops into Bowsie’s epic 9-minute chillfest of ‘Blue Wave Pts II/III’ reminiscent of FSOL at their best, the album over the course of its 62 minutes repeatedly lifts you up, takes you higher then lets you float gently down to Earth again.

And what better way to illustrate this than with the closing pair of tracks: Spatial Awareness’ Dub RMX of ‘Drowning In Indigo’, which oozes late-night post-club vibes to carry the listener through the wee small hours until the gorgeous Pokrasse RMX breaks like a sunrise on a Caribbean beach… Re-Mix/Re-Model – It’s clubby, it’s dubby, it’s ambient – jump in and get carried away…

‘Re-Mix/Re-Model’ Tracklist:

1. Automation Vince Clarke RMX, 2. Radio On (ft. Wolfgang Flür) Outernationale RMX,
3. Spinning 2022 Brian Ego RMDL, 4. Here Comes The Noise II Workings Of A Mad Man RMX,
5. LMGL (A Cautionary Tale) Staff Training Day RMDL,
6. Control Me John Gibbons & Scimon Tist RMX 7. Blue Wave Pt.II/III Bowsie RMX,
8. Automation Nick Reach Up RMX, 9. Spaced 2022 Viktor Vektor RMDL
10. Drowning In Indigo Spatial Awareness Dub RMX, 11. Drowning In Indigo Pokrasse RMX

Tiny Magnetic Pets: Paula Gilmer, Sean Quinn, Eugene Somers

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.