Irish psychedelic/electronic pop sextet - EXTRANAUTS share new track 'Everybody in the Nite'


Irish psychedelic/electronic pop sextet - EXTRANAUTS - have revealed their latest offering, “Everybody in the Nite”, taken from their upcoming debut album ‘The Alchemist’ (out 2 June 2023). With its disco-fied beats, elasticised basslines, and psychoactive electric guitars, “Everybody in the Nite” follows “Lazarus” as an luminescent new insight into Extranauts’ upcoming debut album.

An anthem designed for and inspired by those hedonistic nights out that make life worth living, frontman and songwriter Keith O’Neill explains of the new single:

“”Everybody in the Nite” is an ode to the escapism of nightlife and club culture. Sex, drugs and rock’n’roll have always gone hand-in-hand because they are all ways for us to temporarily lose ourselves and forget about our lives. The track is a celebration of that hedonism.”

Driven by decadent rhythms that writhe and warp like bodies emerging from the fog on a packed-out dancefloor, it’s a song whose lyrics and sonic hallmarks have been carefully crafted to celebrate the euphoric essence of club life at its peak. As Keith adds:

“Every Saturday night pubs and clubs are filled with sweaty masses of people trying to find themselves or lose themselves. Music is our religion and the dancefloor is our place of worship. When it feels this good we don’t need faith to believe.”

Recorded at Grouse Lodge Studios in Westmeath, Ireland, with producer Jagz Kooner (Primal Scream, Kasabian), the new track also touches down alongside an equally trippy official video. With swirling, surreal visuals contorting in prismatic technicolour, you can watch the video BELOW:

“Everybody in the Nite” follows lushly layered recent release “Lazarus” as a second taste of what to expect from Extranauts’ upcoming debut album ‘The Alchemist’, which is set for release on 2 June 2023. Packed out with anthemic floor-fillers, the album was also produced by Jagz Kooner (Primal Scream, Kasabian, Andrew Weatherall), who was able to capture the band’s immense live energy in dazzling technicolour.

Taking inspiration from ‘60s psychedelia just as much as it does dance music, the band’s debut long-player sees Extranauts wearing their influences proudly on their sleeves. Funnelling a rich amalgam of genres, styles, and sounds into thirteen tracks, the album swings from retro-tinted indie-rock cuts like “Uptight” and the twangy “Liquidator” to more kaleidoscopic moments like “Lazarus” and the jangling, groove-laden “The New Age Of Innocence”.

Alongside “Everybody in the Nite”, the album also features previous releases “Slow Robot”, “We Used To Dream”, “It’s About Time”, and “Debonair” — all of which are available to hear now.

Boasting a breadth of influences, earworm-worthy hooks, and catchy funk-fuelled melodies in aplenty, the long awaited release of ‘The Alchemist’ marks just one small step for Extranauts and one giant leap into a vibrant, technicolour universe of sounds to come…

Having started out under the moniker The Dead Heavys, Extranauts have attracted praise from the likes of XFM’s Eddy Temple Morris, The Enemy’s Tom Clarke, Jon McClure from Reverend and the Makers and Louder Than War’s John Robb, who enthused: “[the band] could easily grab the attention of a stadium full of fans or the charts’'.

While initially taking inspiration from late ‘60s psych-pop and mod groups like The Small Faces and The Kinks, it was a shared passion for indie-electronic crossover acts that would become crucial to Extranauts’ melting-pot sound. As lead singer and songwriter Keith O’Neill explains:

“We were heavily influenced by Krautrock bands like Neu & Can and that kind of relentless motorik beat but with a lot more melody and emotion on top. New Order have always been a big influence in how they can meld the danceable track with a melancholic track so that was also a big touchpoint”.

Finding a fan in Creation Records founder Alan McGee who discovered them in their remote hideaway in Waterford, Ireland, before the pandemic; buoyed by his support, the sextet spent the interim years putting the finishing touches to what would become Extranauts’ debut album.

Finally gearing up to release their debut full-length album ‘The Alchemist’ this Summer, their latest single, “Everybody in the Nite”, will be available to stream on all services from 18 May 2023.



1. The Alchemist
2. Lazarus
3. Debonair
4. The New Age Of Innocence
5. Everybody in the Nite
6. Liquidator
7. We Used To Dream
8. It’s About Time
9. Talk Me Down
10. Uptight
11. Slow Robot
12. Afterlife
13. FAM

EXTRANAUTS ARE: Keith O'Neill (Lead vocals & guitar) // Alan Stacey (Backing vocals & guitar) // Peter Vogelaar (Bass) // Peter Sauvage (Drums) // Edward O'Neill (Keys & brass) // Tom Coady (Percussion)

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.