INTERVIEW: Neil Hannon on Charmed Life – The Best Of The Divine Comedy, the new Wonka prequel & more

INTERVIEW: Neil Hannon on Charmed Life - The Best Of The Divine Comedy, the new Wonka prequel & more 1
©Kevin Westenberg

In episode #82 of The XS Noize Podcast, Mark Millar catches up with The Divine Comedy’s Neil Hannon. Having completed his third decade as a recording artist, The Divine Comedy recently released Charmed Life – The Best Of The Divine Comedy – a collection of his finest moments. 

A 24 track career-spanning roster of hit singles and fan favourites, compiled by Neil and remastered at Abbey Road Studios, Charmed Life includes monumental tracks ‘National Express’, ‘Something For The Weekend’, ‘Songs of Love’, ‘Our Mutual Friend’, ‘A Lady of A Certain Age’, ‘To The Rescue’ and ‘Norman and Norma’. It also features the brand new track ‘The Best Mistakes.’

In this interview, Neil talks about the new greatest hits collection, growing up in N.Ireland, songwriting, his work on the new Wonka prequel and lots more.

Listen to episode #82 of The XS Noize Podcast with Neil Hannon – BELOW:

Listen via YouTube | Apple Podcasts | Spotify | Stitcher | Acast | RSS – Find The XS Noize Music Podcast’s full Archive of episodes here.

The Divine Comedy will be touring the UK and Ireland, including a show at the London Palladium on the 3rd of May.

April 2022

Fri 29th Brighton, Brighton Dome
Sat 30th York, Barbican

May 2022

Sun 1st Liverpool, Royal Liverpool Philharmonic
Tue 3rd London, Palladium
Thu 5th Cambridge, Corn Exchange
Fri 6th Ipswich, Regent Theatre
Sun 8th Oxford, New Theatre Oxford
Mon 9th Southampton, O2 Guildhall
Tue 10th Bath, Forum
Thu 12th Cardiff, St Davids Hall
Fri 13th Halifax, Victoria Theatre
Sat 14th Newcastle, O2 City Hall
Sun 15th Nottingham, Royal Concert Hall
Tue 17th Cork, Opera House
Thu 19th Dublin, Olympia Theatre
Sat 21st Belfast, Waterfront Hall

Charmed Life – The Best Of Divine Comedy Tracklisting

1. Charmed Life
2. National Express
3. Norman And Norma
4. Something For The Weekend
5. Songs Of Love
6. The Best Mistakes
7. At The Indie Disco
8. Bad Ambassador
9. A Lady Of A Certain Age
10. Becoming More Like Alfie
11. Come Home Billy Bird
12. Have You Ever Been In Love
13. Our Mutual Friend
14. Generation Sex
15. How Can You Leave Me On My Own
16. Perfect Lovesong
17. Your Daddy’s Car
18. You’ll Never Work In This Town Again
19. Absent Friends
20. Everybody Knows (Except You)
21. The Certainty Of Chance
22. Sunrise
23. To The Rescue
24. Tonight We Fly

Bonus (Deluxe 3CD / Deluxe Digital)

1. I’ll Take What I Can Get
2. Don’t Make Me Go Outside
3. Who Do You Think You Are
4. The Adventurous Type
5. When When When
6. Home For The Holidays
7. Te Amo España
8. Perfect Lovesong 2021
9. Simple Pleasures
10. Those Pesky Kids

The Divine Comedy

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. LIVE REVIEW: The Divine Comedy at Barbican Hall, London | XS Noize | Online Music Magazine