ERASURE share the second track from new album ‘The Neon’ – Listen to ‘Shot A Satellite’ Now!

ERASURE Announce new album 'The Neon' out 21 August - Listen to 'Hey Now (Think I Got a Feeling)' Now
Credit: Phil Sharp

ERASURE (Andy Bell and Vince Clarke) have shared the second track to be taken from their eagerly awaited new album, The Neon. Launching off a bed of stuttering, percussive sci-fi synths, ‘Shot A Satellite’ is the latest taste of what to expect from the band’s forthcoming album, The Neon – out on Mute on 21 August 2020.

The Neon is a place that lives in the imagination, that we – you and me – put in the real world. It could be a night club, a shop, a city, a cafe, a country, a bedroom, a restaurant, any place at all. It’s a place of possibility in warm, glowing light and this is music that takes you there.

Listen to ‘Shot A Satellite’ – BELOW:

Written and produced by Erasure, the album’s initial sessions saw Vince and Andy reunite with fresh optimism and energy. Vince had been feeling drawn towards his older machines, some of which he’d had since their very early years together: “There’s a warmth to them. There’s also a real beauty in putting different analogue synthesisers together, too – a Pro-One, a Sequential Circuits, a Moog – they give this lovely sheen,” he explains.

Taking inspiration from pop music through the decades, from bands Andy loved as a child through to the present day, he explains, “It was about refreshing my love – hopefully, our love – of great pop. I want kids now to hear these songs! I wanted to recharge that feeling that pop can come from anyone.”

The Neon offers us warmth and a brilliant brightness in our times. It connects us to our pasts and our futures as it glistens with hope. It creates beautiful places where our imaginations can roam, bringing us together, twinkling and beaming. The Neon puts you and me in a celebratory world, now and forever, illuminated and alive.

The band recently released a remix EP for the first single, ‘Hey Now (Think I Got A Feeling)’ featuring reworkings from UK based DJ and producer, Philip George; Daybreakers, aka Ric Scott and Alex Hush whose previous remix credits include Madonna and U2, and Nimmo. Listen to the remix EP here.


Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as hosting interviews for the weekly XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.