EDITORS release UNKLE Remix for latest single ‘Cold’ – Listen Now

©Rahi-Rezvani

Platinum-selling British band Editors today release the UNKLE Remix for their latest single ‘Cold’. James Lavelle’s outfit has reworked the track, taking it to a whole other level.

‘Cold’ is the 4th single taken from their 6th studio album Violence, released in March via Play It Again Sam. The moving video, directed by celebrated artist Rahi Rezvani, was shot in Iceland and stars US ballet dancer Drew Jacoby. It’s dramatic, yet stark style perfectly compliments one of Violence’ stand out moments. Watch the video here.

A perfect example of Violence’s brutal sound, ‘Cold’ is a desolate, yet beautiful cry of longing and this is reflected in the video, fittingly filmed in the barren beauty of Iceland. Vocalist Tom Smith describes the track as “the comfort and connection still found in a dying relationship. A break up song of two people not wanting to give up on the relationship” and director Rahi Rezvani portrays this poignently, using ballet dancer Drew Jacoby’s gracefulness and Smith’s trademark operatic spasms to portray two different sides of a couple that are both together and yet painfully apart.

The release of the remix comes off the back of Editors’ recent UK tour, which saw them visit 14 cities in 18 days, culminating in a sold-out O2 Academy Brixton on 24th October. The tour received rave reviews including a five star review from Metro who said “‘Stadiums beckon as Editors head for the top” and 4**** from the Evening Standard to name a few. This weekend Editors play in Mexico, headlining the 212 Festival in Guadalajara on Saturday 10th Nov, where they’ll perform to 50,000 people before they return to Europe to continue their European tour to support the Violence album.

Listen to the UNKLE Remix for latest single ‘Cold’ – BELOW:

The Autumn tour dates follow a busy summer of live shows for Editors, which has seen them support The Cure at their huge BST Hyde Park show on 7th July, play Manchester’s Neighbourhood Festival on 27th May and headline the Werchter Classic on 14th July, topping a bill that also contained heavyweights Kraftwerk and The National.

Violence is the sixth album from Birmingham’s Editors and follows 2015’s acclaimed top 5 In Dream. It’s their sixth top 10 album in a row, having scored 2 UK no.1’s and 2 platinum certifications with their first 3 LPs. Alongside their millions of record sales, they’ve also been nominated for Best British Band at the BRIT Awards and been shortlisted for a Mercury Prize for 2005’s The Back Room.

See Editors live:

Sat 10 Nov Guadalajara, Mexico – 212 Festival
Fri 16 Nov Bremen, Germany – pier 2
Sat 17 Nov Erfurt Stadtgarten, Germany
Sun 18 Nov Dortmund, Germany – PhoenixHalle
Tue 20 Nov Stuttgart, Germany – Lidohalle
Wed 21 Nov Frankfurt, Germany – Batschkapp
Thu 22 Nov Erlangen, Germany – E -Werk
Sat 24 Nov Poznan, Poland – MTPS
Sun 25 Nov Warsaw, Poland – Torwat
Mon 26 Nov Bratislava, Slovakia – Refinery Gallery
Wed 28 Nov Linz Posthof
Thu 29 Nov Bologna Paladaozza
Fri 30 Nov Zagreb, Croatia – Positive Concert – part of an indoor festival
Sun 2 Dec Pratteln, Switzerland – Konzertfabrik Z7
Mon 3 Dec Utrecht, Netherlands – Tivoli Vredenburg
Tue 4 Dec Utrecht, Netherlands – Tivoli Vredenburg
Thu 6 Dec Brussels, Belgium – Cirque Royale
Fri 7 Dec Brussels, Belgium – Cirque Royale

 

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply