Edinburgh based MC CONSCIOUS ROUTE and producer partner SCOTT BATHGATE announce new 6-track ‘Pyramid EP’

Edinburgh based MC CONSCIOUS ROUTE and producer partner SCOTT BATHGATE announce new 6-track 'Pyramid EP'

Edinburgh-based MC Conscious Route and producer Scott Bathgate are releasing their stunning new 6-track ‘Pyramid EP’ on 02/04/22, featuring guest appearances by Sean Focus, Kryptik and Geoffrey Williams. The buff and bass-heavy sound maintain a Hip Hop edge while switching through touches of Grime, Afro-Pop, Dancehall and Electronica, as the rhymes paint politicised pictures with self-assured mindfulness that will make you think.

Not the usual ‘once and done’ Pop Rap, you will want to put this on repeat to soak it all in.

Conscious Route is a rapper, MC, poet and singer-songwriter who was born in London before moving to Edinburgh over a decade ago. In 2020 he unleashed the collaborative ‘Lost Routes’ album, alongside producer Trust Note, which went on to receive a 4-star review in The Scotsman upon it’s release. In addition to this, two of his more recent releases, ‘Trojan’ and his feature on ‘Dragons Jaw’ by ‘Post Coal Prom Queen’, were named track of the week on BBC Introducing Scotland.

The Sensory EP a collaboration with producer Toni Smoke, also saw 2 tracks receive worldwide airplay on Rapstation 365, played by UK’s DJ Shorty on London’s Chip Shop show then re-spun by the legendary Chuck D in the USA. His Lost Routes Flip Tape was supported by Tom Robinson’s BBC 6 Music Fresh On The Net BBC Introducing Mixtape Show and he has again seen his music named among The Herald’s Top 100 Scottish Tunes Of The Year.

Scott Bathgate is a musician and composer based in Glasgow, Scotland who decided he wanted to get more into audio production during his time in lockdown, which led to him pursuing his own artistic career with many singles coming out over the course of the years.

His influences range from Hip Hop, RnB to Post-Rock and Classical Music. He produced the track ‘Demiurge’ by Pearling which has had airplay on BBC Radio 1 and in his short time producing, he has also received ‘Track Of The Week’ on BBC Introducing Scotland, as well as radio coverage on Saltaire FM, Amazing Radio and Schmu FM. Scott is currently working with some fantastic new artists in the Scottish scene, such as Razz, Mattreezy, Kleo, Conscious Route, Sean Focus, Nadya Albertsson, Del Prez, Jess Johnson, Megan Black and Lo Rays.

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.