DOCUMENTA – to release 2nd album ‘Drone Pop #’ – Listen to track

DOCUMENTA - to release 2nd album 'Drone Pop #' - Listen to track

Drone Pop #1 is the second album by cosmic drone-pop septet Documenta. Recorded over four days at Start Together Studios Belfast by Ben McAuley and the band, it also features additional production from David Holmes on ‘Love As A Ghost’.

Influenced by the English guitar minimalism emanating from 1980s Rugby, the darkness and light of Detroit’s hit factory, and the German Kosmische set’s concrète groove – Documenta present a true psychedelia through repetition, melody and rhythm.

A patient year-long process of experimentation and mixing – where the group added “washing machines, aircraft and the sound of Saturday night” – encouraged a fuller overall feel and a marked sonic progression. “We experimented at home quite a bit before returning to the studio so we got to stretch our imagination. We’re constantly learning as a band and this seemed like the next musical step.”

[soundcloud url=”″ params=”color=ff5500&auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_comments=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false” width=”100%” height=”166″ iframe=”true” /]

Soul music in outer space.


1. Idle Hands
2. Spanish Artist
3. Horror Vacui i
4. Selene

5. Love As A Ghost
6. Chiaroscuro
7. Horror Vacui ii
8. The Day My Heart Stood Still

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.