DINOSAUR JR. share ‘Solo Extractions’ A compendium of guitar solos from new album, Give A Glimpse Of What Yer Not,

Dinosaur Jr. release video for 'Tiny', taken from new album Give a Glimpse of What Yer Not
Photo credit: Shervin Lainez

Today, Dinosaur Jr. share the ‘Solo Extractions’: a compendium of every guitar solo collected on their new record, Give a Glimpse of What Yer Not, out August 5th on Jagjaguwar.

Mascis is the possessor of one of the most distinctive, iconic guitar sounds of the last thirty years and Give a Glimpse… captures the wizard at the height of his powers. Entertainment Weekly recently praised lead single ‘Tiny’ as such, calling the track “intoxicatingly melodic,” before going on to testify that Mascis “still wails his axe like it’s 1986, and with a style this singular, why not?” Equally, Pitchfork – in a brilliant piece on the best Mascis shreds on other people’s songs – went even further, saying, “Mascis’ guitar has the ability to dominate not only his ownsongs, but any song it shows up on. There are countless great guitarists, but there’s an argument to be made that J has one of the most uniquely identifiable tones going.”

With Give a Glimpse of What Yer Not’s August 5th release date creeping ever closer, what better time to dig in with the meat and potatoes of the album’s shreddery: a further teaser of what to expect from the album and a vibrant reminder of how – four albums into their post-reunion output – Dinosaur Jr. remain as vital as ever.

Hear the ‘Solo Extractions’ BELOW:

Over the course of 2016, J, Lou, and Murph are doing what they do best: hitting the road, cranking the amps to 12, making their strings and drumheads glow red like embers. Don’t miss seeing one of the greatest live bands of all-time.

DINOSAUR JR. TOUR DATES:

Tue. July 19 – Boston, MA @ Blue Hills Bank Pavilion w/ Jane’s Addiction
Wed. July 20 – Philadelphia, PA @ The Fillmore w/ Jane’s Addiction
Fri. July 22 – Sterling Heights, MI @ Freedom Hill Amphitheatre w/ Jane’s Addiction
Sat. July 23 – Cleveland, OH @ Jacob’s Pavilion w/ Jane’s Addiction
Sun. July 25 – Cincinnati, OH @ The Woodward
Mon. July 25 – Indianapolis, IN @ Old National Centre – Murat Theatre w/ Jane’s Addiction
Fri. Aug. 12 – Sun. Aug 14 – Atlanta, GA @ Wrecking Ball Festival
Sat. Aug. 20 – Tokyo, JP @ Hostess Club All-Nighter
Wed. Sept. 7 – New Haven, CT @ College Street Music Hall
Thu. Sept. 8 – Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club
Fri. Sept. 9 – Norfolk, VA @ The NorVa
Sat. Sept. 10 – Charlotte, NC @ Neighborhood Theatre
Sun. Sept. 11 – Asheville, NC @ The Orange Peel
Tue. Sept. 13 – Birmingham, AL @ Saturn
Wed. Sept. 14 – New Orleans, LA @ Tipitina’s Uptown
Thu. Sept. 15 – Houston, TX @ White Oak Music Hall
Fri. Sept. 16 – Austin, TX @ Austin City Limits Live
Sat. Sept. 17 – Dallas, TX @ Granada Theater
Mon. Sept. 19 – Phoenix, AZ @ The Crescent Ballroom
Tue. Sept. 20 – Solana Beach, CA @ Belly Up Tavern
Thu. Sept. 22 – Los Angeles, CA @ Teragram Ballroom
Fri. Sept. 23 – Los Angeles, CA @ Teragram Ballroom
Sat. Sept. 24 – Pioneertown, CA @ Pappy & Harriet’s (Desert Stars Festival)
Mon. Sept. 26 – San Francisco, CA @ The Independent
Tue. Sept. 27 – San Francisco, CA @ The Independent
Wed. Sept. 28 -San Francisco, CA @ The Independent
Thu. Sept. 29 – Portland, OR @ Crystal Ballroom
Fri. Sept. 30 – Vancouver, BC @ Commodore Ballroom
Sat. Oct. 1 – Seattle, WA @ The Showbox
Mon. Oct. 3 – Salt Lake City, UT @ The Depot
Tue. Oct. 4 – Denver, CO @ Bluebird Theater
Wed. Oct. 5 – Denver, CO @ Bluebird Theater
Fri. Oct. 7 – Minneapolis, MN @ First Avenue
Sat. Oct. 8 – Chicago, IL @ Metro
Sun. Oct. 9 – Millvale, PA @ Mr. Small’s Theatre
Sat. Oct. 29 – Groningen, NL @ Vera
Sun. Oct. 30 – Luxembourg, LU @ Den Atelier
Mon. Oct. 31 – Paris, FR @ Elysée Montmartre
Tue. Nov. 1 – Brussels, BE @ AB
Fri. Nov. 4 – Kiel, DE @ Rollingstone Weekender
Sat. Nov. 5 – Malmo, SE @ Kb
Sun. Nov. 6 – Oslo, NO @ Vulkan
Tue. Nov. 8 – Stockholm, SE @ Debaser Medis
Wed. Nov. 9 – Copenhagen, DK @ Amager Bio
Thu. Nov. 10 – Aarhus, DK @ VoxHall
Fri. Nov. 11 – Berlin, DE @ Astra
Sat. Nov. 12 – Utrecht, NL @ Le Guess Who?
Mon. Nov. 14 – Bristol, UK @ Motion
Tue. Nov. 15 – Dublin, IE @ Vicar Street
Thu. Nov. 17 – Glasgow, UK @ ABC1
Fri. Nov. 18 – London, UK @ Forum
Sat. Nov. 19 – Manchester, UK @ Albert Hall

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*