COWBOY JUNKIES have announced a UK tour for November

Cowboy Junkies

Following the release of the highly-praised new album Songs of the Recollection on Proper Records, Cowboy Junkies have announced a UK tour for November.

Long admired for the carefully chosen cover versions of songs that have been part of their repertoire from the very beginning, Songs of the Recollection consists of nine covers both newly recorded and curated from previous album projects. Read our review of Songs of the Recollection here.

Michael Timmins recalls, “Long before we were musicians, we were music fans. We didn’t grow up sitting around the kitchen table playing instruments and harmonizing. We grew up sitting around the record player listening to each other’s record collections and having our minds blown. This was the passion that we shared. Our goal has always been to create music that took hold of the listener the way that this music took hold of us. These are some of the songs and some of the artists that found their way into our lives and eventually into our repertoire over the past fifty years.”

This inspired collection features tracks from David Bowie, Neil Young, Gram Parsons, The Rolling Stones, Bob Dylan, Gordon Lightfoot, Vic Chesnutt and The Cure. The full tracklisting is below.

Songs of the Recollection follows 2018’s acclaimed studio album All That Reckoning, which The Times newspaper described as “..their most vital album in years”, and joins stand-out releases like The Trinity Sessions (1988), Pale Sun, Crescent Moon (1993), Lay It Down (1996), Open (2001), and At the End of Paths Taken (2007) in reflecting the band’s unique and independent creative journey.

Songs of the Recollection track-listing, with writing credits:

1. Five Years – David Bowie

2. Ooh Las Vegas * – Gram Parsons

3. No Expectations – Mick Jagger and Keith Richards

4. Don’t Let It Bring You Down – Neil Young

5. Love In Mind – Neil Young

6. The Way I Feel * – Gordon Lightfoot

7. I’ve Made Up My Mind To Give Myself To You – Bob Dylan

8. Marathon * – Vic Chesnutt

9. Seventeen Seconds * – Laurence Andrew Tolhurst (The Cure)

*previously commercially released

Tour dates:


10th Basingstoke, The Anvil

12th Chester, Storyhouse (on sale on August 10)

16th Belfast, Mandela Hall

17th Dublin, National Concert Hall

19th Buxton, Opera House

20th Edinburgh, Assembly Halls

23rd Sunderland, The Fire Station

24th Coventry, Warwick Arts Centre

25th Canterbury, Gulbenkian Theatre

27th London, Royal Festival Hall

Tickets are on sale now from here.

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.