CIARAN LAVERY announces long-awaited fourth album ‘Plz Stay, bb’ & shares new single and video ‘Count To Ten’

CIARAN LAVERY announces long-awaited fourth album ‘Plz Stay, bb’ & shares new single and video ‘Count To Ten’

Today (March 27th 2020) Northern Ireland Music Prize winner Ciaran Lavery announces the release of his fourth album, ‘Plz Stay, bb’, to be released on June 19th. Lavery is also today sharing a new single and video, ‘Count To Ten’ – as well as announcing a “world tour” where he’ll be playing live across his socials throughout April (dates can be found below).

‘Count To Ten’ is the third track released from the upcoming album Plz Stay, bb. Featuring contributions from the likes of Rosie Carney and Liza Anne, Plz Stay, bb is steeped in catharsis. ‘Count To Ten’ is a song that speaks volumes for what the album represents, in analysing his actions and decisions he’s made in the past. The track is an honest, internal reflection played out over a backdrop of driving guitars and high-reaching melodies.

Speaking on the new single, Ciaran said: “This is the track that lays the foundation for the whole record and what is to follow. The song talks about responsibility on many levels, though mostly my own – my negligence to take responsibility for myself and my decision making, but also the steps that I took to dig within myself, something that I’d neglected to do for the whole of my life up to this point. There is anger in this, frustration directed toward myself for poor decision making & equal amounts of frustration for whipping myself for any decisions that I did make. This song is also a celebration of being able to show your scars with a sense of pride and finding the ability to speak about these issues where I didn’t have the language to do so previously.”

The video for ‘Count To Ten’ is also released today. Directed by Richie O’Connor, Lavery frees himself of the shackles and expectations that have followed him throughout his career to date: “We both wanted this to be fun and to have me [Ciaran] moving. Contrary to popular belief I’m not actually a trained dancer and it was a real thrill to just let go.”

Check out the video for ‘Count To Ten’ – BELOW:

Throughout the recording process, Ciaran listened obsessively to Thom Yorke’s ‘The Eraser’, Mitski’s ‘Be The Cowboy’ and Beastie Boys ‘Ill Communication’ which served as the stylistic backdrop to everything: “It’s the Joy Division trick of making people dance while you punch them in the gut with the true message – which I love.”

Ciaran’s previous record received critical acclaim from press worldwide, including Billboard, Irish Times, Q Magazine, Huffington Post and The Telegraph. Tracks from this record have been supported by Huw Stephens on BBC 6Music and Phil Taggart on BBC Radio 1. He’s also been supported previously by Zane Lowe, Huw Stephens and BBC Radio 2 and BBC Radio 4 and has reached over 100 million combined streams from his previous three albums.

‘Count To Ten’ is out now. Ciaran Lavery’s fourth album ‘Plz Stay, bb’ is out June 19th.

Socially Distant, Emotionally Close World Tour –– LIVE STREAM TOUR

30 March, Toronto – Canada
31 March, Washington DC – USA
1 April, Rio de Janeiro – Brazil
2 April, Beijing – China
3 April, Sydney – Australia
6 April, London – UK
7 April, Dublin – Ireland
9 April, Pisa – Italy
10 April, Marbella – Spain
13 April, Moscow – Russia
15 April, Cape Town – South Africa
17 April, Tehran – Iran

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as hosting interviews for the weekly XS Noize Podcast.Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.