Brian Jonestown Massacre announce new album ’Third World Pyramid’ – Listen to 1st single

Brian Jonestown Massacre announce new album ’Third World Pyramid' - Listen to 1st single

BRIAN JONESTOWN MASSACRE WILL RELEASE THE NEW ALBUM ‘THIRD WORLD PYRAMID’ ON 28TH OCTOBER 2016 ON A RECORDINGS And unveil new single ‘Sun Ship’, which is released on 16th September. Brian Jonestown Massacre have announced the new album ‘Third World Pyramid’, which will be released on 28th October. Lead single ‘Sun Ship’ will be released on honey coloured vinyl on 16th September and its B-side ‘Playtime’ is exclusive to this release. The band have spent the last couple of months touring the UK, Europe, North America and Australia and will be starting the second part of their European tour at the end of August.

Anton Newcombe has been a very busy man these past 2 years, kicking off with the critically acclaimed Brian Jonestown Massacre album ‘Revelation’ in May 2014. After a successful UK and European tour, the BJM followed this up with the ‘+-‘ EP (Nov 2014). 2015 saw the release of ‘Musique de film imaginé’ (April); an imaginary film soundtrack album featuring the track ‘Bonbon’ which has, ironically, been used in ‘Dheepan’; the Palme D’or winner at Cannes film festival 2015. In June, Anton and Tess Parks embarked on a well received tour of the UK and Europe to support the release of ‘I Declare Nothing’. Anton finished the year with a BJM mini-album release entitled ‘Mini-Album Thingy Wingy’. All releases were fully recorded and produced at Anton’s studio.

Listen here:

The Brian Jonestown Massacre track ‘Straight Up and Down’ was used as the theme tune to the multi-award winning Boardwalk Empire. Anton is currently working on the soundtrack for ‘Moon Dogs’, a new film directed by multi-BAFTA nominated Philip John (Svengali, Downton Abbey, Being Human).

Named in tribute to the legendary Rolling Stones guitarist and his influence in introducing Eastern culture and music into the world of Western rock & roll, Brian Jonestown Massacre formed in San Francisco, California in 1990. They have been essential in the development of the modern U.S. garage scene, and many LA and San Francisco musicians got their start playing with Anton Newcombe, including Peter Hayes of Black Rebel Motorcycle Club. Affectionately known as the Granddaddy of Psyche, Anton Newcombe’s influence continues to reach far and wide.

Originally, Anton Newcombe was heavily influenced by The Rolling Stones’ psychedelic phase, but his work in the 2000s has expanded into aesthetic dimensions approximating the UK Shoegazing genre of the 1990s and incorporating influences from world music, especially Middle Eastern and Brazilian music.

Track Listing

1. Good Mourning
2. Government Beard
3. Don’t Get Lost
4. Assignment Song
5. Oh Bother
6. Third World Pyramid
7. Like describing colors to a blind man on acid
8. Lunar Surf Graveyard
9. Sun Ship

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.