BLUR drummer DAVE ROWNTREE announces his debut album, ‘Radio Songs’ – Out January 23

Dave Rowntree
Photo Credit: Paul Postle

BLUR drummer DAVE ROWNTREE is excited to announce details of his debut album, RADIO SONGS which will be released on January 20, 2023, via Cooking Vinyl. Its announcement coincides with the release of a new single, “Devil’s Island,” his second from the debut record and its opener too. The album was produced by Leo Abrahams (Brian Eno, Wild Beasts, Ghostpoet).

Dave Rowntree on “Devil’s Island”: “I grew up in the UK in the 1970s, and while there were definitely good points about the decade, I also remember how toxic it could be. The country was deeply divided, and racism and misogyny were the norm. The economy was a basket case, and at one point, we had to be bailed out by the IMF [International Monetary Fund]. However, listening to some people, you’d think it was a golden age to which we should yearn to return. This song is a note to self, to remind me how far we’ve come in forty years.”

Listen to ‘Devils Island’ BELOW:



1. Devil’s Island
2. Downtown
3. London Bridge
4. 1000 Miles
5. HK
6. Tape Measure
7. Machines Like Me
8. Black Sheep
9. Volcano
10. Who’s Asking


Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as hosting interviews for the weekly XS Noize Podcast.Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.