Big Brother Recordings release new video content ahead of the 25th anniversary of Oasis’ Iconic third album ‘Be Here Now’ on August 21st

Credit: Jill Furmanovsky

Ahead of the 25th anniversary of the original release of Oasis’ historic third album ‘Be Here Now’, Big Brother Recordings have made a brand new lyric video for ‘Stand By Me’ available, one of Oasis’ most streamed tracks alongside a new HD version of the official video.

These join recently unveiled HD versions of the official videos for ‘Don’t Go Away’ and ‘All Around The World’, plus a brand new lyric video for ‘D’You Know What I Mean? (NG’s 2016 Rethink)’. All ‘Be Here Now’ related videos can be found on this special YouTube playlist HERE.

Additionally, fans can test their knowledge of the album with the ‘Be Here Now 25th Anniversary’ Quiz hosted exclusively on the Official Charts website HERE.

Watch ‘Stand By Me’ HD Version – BELOW:

Limited-edition collectors’ album formats of ‘Be Here Now’ are available next Friday 19th August, ahead of the silver anniversary of the original album release date on 21st August. Formats include a silver-coloured double heavyweight LP, plus a double picture disc and cassette available exclusively from the band’s online store. Pre-order formats and listen to the album HERE.

‘Be Here Now’ followed the success of ‘(What’s The Story) Morning Glory?’, Oasis’ biggest-selling album and the record that broke them globally. By 1997, Oasis were at the pinnacle of their success and had become omnipresent in British youth culture. The appetite for ‘Be Here Now’ was immense and it was amid this overheated anticipation that they made arguably the most eagerly awaited record since the heyday of The Beatles and The Rolling Stones.

‘Be Here Now’ was produced by Owen Morris and Noel Gallagher and recorded at Abbey Road, Ridge Farm, Air, Master Rock and Orinoco Studios between November 1996 and April 1997. Originally mastered by Mike Marsh at The Exchange; the album was then remastered in 2016 by Ian Cooper at Metropolis Studios. As well as the evergreen classic ‘Stand by Me’, the album includes ‘D’You Know What I Mean?’, the band’s 3rd No.1 single, and the ambitious 9-minute ‘All Around The World’. The epic elements of ‘Be Here Now’ are contrasted by the heartfelt introspection of ‘Don’t Go Away’ and the surreal psychedelia of ‘Magic Pie’.

Released at midnight on Thursday 21st August 1997, at a time when most albums were released on a Monday, ‘Be Here Now’ sold a staggering 400,000 copies on the first day in the UK, with 663,400 sales in just 3 days. It was No.1 in fifteen countries and remained at the top of the UK Album Chart for 4 weeks. To date, it has the most album sales in the first seven days of release in UK Official Chart history and has sold over 8 million copies globally.

‘Be Here Now’ stands as a unique album in the Oasis catalogue with its unrepentant excess and supersized swagger. 25 years on, it enjoys legendary status as the sound of a generation-defining band at their absolute peak.


Oasis ‘Be Here Now’ Tracklist:

A1. D’You Know What I Mean?
A2. My Big Mouth
A3. Magic Pie
B1. Stand By Me
B2. I Hope, I Think, I Know
B3. The Girl In The Dirty Shirt
C1. Fade In-Out
C2. Don’t Go Away
C3. Be Here Now
D1. All Around The World
D2. It’s Gettin’ Better (Man!!)
D3. All Around The World (Reprise)

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.