BEAU DIAKO shares new single ‘Nylon’ featuring Tobi Tunis

BEAU DIAKO shares new single ‘Nylon’ featuring Tobi Tunis
Photo Credit: Kasia Kawalek

After joining forces with major talents Bas and Etta Bond on his latest track ‘Fretless’, Beau Diako gets 2022 off to bang as he shares his brand new single ‘Nylon’, which features Tobi Tunis. The single is the title track from his eagerly anticipated debut album, also titled ‘Nylon’, that will follow on April 1st. 

The ‘Nylon’ single finds Beau Diako employing some esoteric sonic touches to give the track’s core R&B sound an off-kilter edge. With understated island beats and a Latin-tinged edge courtesy of his airy, nylon guitars, the song feels both summery and moodily introspective. Tobi Tunis provides the magic bonus ingredient as his dreamy, hypnotic topline gives the song the atmosphere of an escape from the January gloom.

Beau Diako says, “It’s always an honour and pleasure to team up with my talented friend Tobi Tunis. He has the most amazing smooth voice and always writes the most beautiful melodies that I could never get tired of hearing.

‘Nylon’ was one of the first tracks I made after getting a really cheap nylon string guitar to experiment with. This dark and moody but dancey idea came out and all the layers and instruments seemed to just fall into place around it. The song gives me the image of being lost and deep in thought on a lonely beach somewhere late at night.”

Tobi Tunis adds, “Once again Beau decided to grace me with another of his musical gemstones. It’s weird because I had recently become addicted to reggaeton beats when he sent me this track out of the blue. I listened to it, lost my shit, skipped breakfast and went straight to the studio where I spent the week writing and recording vocals for it. Definitely got a bit hungry in there, but I kept feeding off all the coconut energy flowing out of the track.”

Listen to ‘Nylon’ – BELOW:

Beau Diako and Tobi Tunis previously collaborated together on ‘Cute’, a track from the 2019 EP ‘Flutter’. Tobi Tunis was a founder member of the Australian indie/electro-pop band Tora.

‘Nylon’ was the final song to be recorded for the album, and its importance was reiterated when it was also chosen as its title. The album introduces Beau Diako as a bold and brilliantly imaginative new talent in British music. Like its creator, the record is laidback, playful and experimental, and rewards repeated plays. Working with a dynamic array of vocalists and collaborators, he has crafted a sumptuous and soothing collection. It’s a modern pop album that gently glides from mellow alt R&B to loose-limbed indie-pop, his mellifluous guitar work and lithe production at the centre of everything.

The majority of the album’s collaborations were recorded remotely. It’s an approach that Beau Diako prefers for two reasons. Firstly, he loves the space and creativity that comes when working in solitude. Secondly, there’s something special and beguiling about hearing his music being transformed in a way that he couldn’t have predicted.

Born Beau Diakowicz (he’s a quarter Ukrainian), he was brought up in Fareham, Hampshire – a nice enough place, but not one blessed with a vibrant music scene. A broken leg put paid to his love of football, but did inspire him to pick up the acoustic guitar. Before long, Beau had mastered songs from Radiohead, Jeff Buckley, The Smiths and Sufjan Stevens as his virtuoso talent revealed itself. His 2019 debut EP ‘Flutter’ introduced him as an intriguing new proposition on the UK underground scene, assisted by guest features from Jordan Rakei and emawk. He also worked with Kasia Constance on her ‘Cosmic Dust’ EP and contributed guitar to the Sampology track ‘Suffer and Swim’.

‘Nylon’ album tracklist:

‘Fretless’ (featuring Bas and Etta Bond)
‘Nylon’ (featuring Tobi Tunis)
‘Birthmark’ (featuring emawk)
‘Alone’ (featuring Ego Ella May)
‘Settle Down’ (featuring Rad Museum)
‘Turn Your Phone Off’ (featuring emawk)
‘Normal’ (featuring Emilia Ali)
‘Marina’ (featuring Galimatias)
‘Afloat’ (featuring Miso)
‘The Care’ (featuring Tobi Tunis)
‘Wake Up’ (featuring Alann8h and Bel Cobain)
‘Walking On My Toes’ (featuring Tennyson)
‘Lychee’ (featuring Yvette Young)

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.