TRACK PREMIERE: Nicky William – Pathetic F**k

TRACK PREMIERE: Nicky William - Pathetic F**k

Following on from the release of his bittersweet love ballad ‘I Fell in Love With Her’, Swedish Alt-folk singer-songwriter Nicky William is soon to release ‘Pathetic Fuck’, his second single taken from his forthcoming EP, via Icons Creating Evil Art. XS Noize is pleased to exclusively premiere the track today!

Since the release of his debut album ‘Set You Loved Ones Free, We Have You Surrounded’ in 2017, Nicky has perfected his craft by maturing his sound capabilities with idiosyncratic alternative-folk and complex songwriting. Using old Americana, to the itchy and edgy outsiders to mould his alternative-folk sound, Nicky takes inspiration from the likes of Joni Mitchell, Patti Smith and Nick Cave.

On new single, ‘Pathetic Fuck’, Nicky steps outside of the melancholic alt-folk sphere to deliver a more experimental approach to his sound – a risk proving to be worth the take. Striking a playful atmosphere, the driving momentum and bright-toned melodies of ‘Pathetic Fuck’ elevate the husky style of Nicky’s vocals. With the glorious beats and a woozy rhythm taking centre stage, Nicky demonstrates a straightforward illustration of the angry emotions one can feel towards their own character traits.

In talks of his new track, Nicky tells us: “The goal for me is to express myself as honestly as possible, and in this song, there is no masking of my pettiness or anger. I wanted the emotions to control the song without embellishments or poetic metaphors.”

Listen to ‘Pathetic Fuck’ – BELOW:

New single ‘Pathetic Fuck’ will be available to stream from Friday 28th August 2020, via Icons Creating Evil Art.

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.