TRACK OF THE DAY: Field Music – ‘Time In Joy’ – Listen Now!

FIELD MUSIC Share New Single "TIME IN JOY"- Listen Now!

Field Music, helmed by Sunderland siblings Peter and David Brewis, recently announced details of their sixth album Open Here (released 2nd February 2018 on Memphis Industries).

Today its lead single “Time In Joy” is our Track of the Day, a sparkling funk glamorising not glamorising the dark times but having a good time in spite of them.

Peter Brewis: “People have a sort of romanticised idea of feelings that are painful or dark, that they are more meaningful, but when I’ve been through dark times, I find that there isn’t a lot of romance in that, that I function better and get more meaning out of positive experiences.

“With some things that have been happening personally to us recently, and obviously the things happening in the wider world, there’s a kind of defiance in playfulness, and that’s what we were trying to capture. It isn’t escapism, but it’s an attempt to confront those things with a deliberate sense of fun. Fun in the face of hardship. We set out to have a good time making this record, in spite of everything.”

Listen to ‘Time in Joy’ BELOW:

The two years since Commontime have been strange and turbulent. If you ever thought the world made some kind of sense, you may have questioned yourself a few times in the past two years. And that questioning, that erosion of faith – in people, in institutions, in shared experience – runs through every song on the new Field Music album.

The brother’s studio, on the banks of the river Wear, became a sanctuary away from everything political and personal, a cocoon of creativity. And conversely, making the album became an alternative way to connect to people, with a wide array of musicians invited to leave their mark, notably Sarah Hayes on flute and piccolo, Liz Corney on vocals, Pete Fraser on saxophone, Simon Dennis on trumpet and flugelhorn, a Cornshed Sisters choir and the regular string quartet of Ed Cross, Jo Montgomery, Chrissie Slater and Ele Leckie.

The result is a record that is bigger in scale, grander than anything they’ve done before. David Brewis explains, “where Commontime felt like a distillation of all of the elements that make up Field Music, this feels like an expansion; as if we’re pushing in every direction at once to see how far we can go”.

Open Here is available to pre-order on transparent 180g vinyl, CD and cassette from Limited edition bundles including signed test pressings, tea towels and five postcard sets are available.

Field Music recently announced a series of UK & EU shows for 2018. The dates include special nights at the Barbican, London and The Northern Stage, Newcastle with strings, horns, woodwind and assorted percussion provided by the Open Here Orchestra. They’ll also be doing a series of intimate instore gigs in the UK on the week of the album release.

Field Music 2018 live dates

02 Feb – Newcastle, Northern Stage
03 Feb – Newcastle, Northern Stage (matinee show)
03 Feb – Newcastle, Northern Stage (evening show)
05 Feb – Rough Trade East, London
06 Feb – Rough Trade Bristol
07 Feb – Rough Trade Nottingham
09 Feb – Resident Records, Brighton
08 Mar – Brighton, Komedia
09 Mar – Bristol, The Lantern
10 Mar – Southampton, Engine Rooms
11 Mar – Exeter, Phoenix
15 Mar – Birmingham, 02 Institute 2
16 Mar – Manchester, Gorilla
17 Mar – Glasgow, Saint Luke’s
22 Mar – Liverpool, Arts Club
23 Mar – Sheffield, Foundry
24 Mar – Norwich, The Waterfront
25 May – London, Barbican with the Open Here Orchestra
05 Apr – Antwerp, Trix
06 Apr – Amsterdam, Melkweg
07 Apr – Paris, Flow
25 May – London, Barbican

Over thirteen years and six albums, Field Music have managed to carve a niche where all of these sounds can find a place; a place where pop music can be as voracious as it wants to be. Field Music will be touring as a seven-piece with core live players Kev Dosdale (guitar), Andrew Lowther (bass), Liz Corney (vocals and keys) plus Damo Waters on percussion and Sarah Hayes on flute and keyboards.

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as hosting interviews for the weekly XS Noize Podcast.Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.