THE WAR ON DRUGS release ‘I Don’t Live Here Anymore’ (Deluxe Edition) featuring unreleased songs, ‘Oceans of Darkness’ and ‘Slow Ghost’

The War On Drugs

Today, The War On Drugs release the I Don’t Live Here Anymore (Deluxe Edition), featuring two unreleased songs, “Oceans of Darkness” and “Slow Ghost.” After debuting an early version of “Oceans of Darkness” on The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon in the Autumn of 2020, the band have been playing the invigorating, timeless rock number on select tour stops over the last several months. The official studio version is now available for the first time.

Bandleader Adam Granduciel comments, “One night in LA, while we were many months into working on what would be I Don’t Live Here Anymore, Dave [Hartley] uncovered a stripped-down demo in my dropbox called ‘Oceans of Darkness,’ and insisted we try recording it. We were frustrated and exhausted at the time, but we set up in a circle after dinner and worked it out as the tape was rolling. It’s rare that a song of ours could feel this complete after only a few takes, but it had all the desperation and urgency that we had been looking for. Ultimately I didn’t include it on the record because I couldn’t find a home for it among the other songs, but we’re happy we can share it with you now.”

The I Don’t Live Here Anymore (Deluxe Edition) is now available in Dolby Atmos on all supporting platforms. Listen Here.

The War On Drugs I Don’t Live Here Anymore Limited-Edition Deluxe Box Set will be out this Friday (30th September) on Atlantic Records. Co-produced by Granduciel and Shawn Everett, the album landed on numerous 2021 best albums of the year lists and garnered a second BRIT Award nomination.

I Don’t Live Here Anymore Limited-Edition Deluxe Box Set

I Don’t Live Here Anymore Limited-Edition Deluxe Box Set

• 2xLP album on heavyweight 180-gram vinyl

• 7” Single with previously unreleased songs “Oceans of Darkness” b/w “Slow Ghost”

• 16-page booklet with never before seen in-studio photos

• 24” x 36” Poster

• 6 Perforated postcards of photos taken during the recording process

• Exclusive embroidered patch

• The full album on cassette + “Slow Ghost” bonus track

Watch ‘I Don’t Live Here Anymore’ Limited-Edition Deluxe Box Set Unboxing Video – BELOW:

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.