THE LATHUMS ride their wave and release joyous new single - 'I'll Get By'

THE LATHUMS ride their wave and release joyous new single - 'I'll Get By'

Cracking the door further ajar and letting listeners take another step into their forthcoming, debut album The Lathums scatter seeds of their trademark, smile-wide optimism on their latest, beaming single, I’ll Get By. A skiffle-beat love letter to finding someone to lean on, the track is OUT NOW on Island Records.

Making and breaking records, the avalanche of support from fans to the band’s debut album announcement has swamped the band inside two weeks. Releasing the 12-track long-player, How Beautiful Life Can Be on Fri 24 September 2021, the four-piece smashed the pre-sales record of short-run, special vinyl edition label, Blood Records, selling out every copy of a 1,000 copy, zoetrope edition in just four minutes.

Hundreds of fans queued to meet the band at Wigan Market two weekends ago, grabbing limited-edition merchandise, selfies and super-rare ‘first edition’ vinyl copies of the album.

Celebrating life-giving harvest that only true friendship can bring, I’ll Get By finds lyricist and frontman, Alex Moore in glowing form once more. Plucking words with pure-of-heart innocence from the air around him, lines such as “maybe you’re the sculpture or you’re the statue / maybe you’re a king or maybe you’re my queen or maybe you are something in between” wraps giving arms around humankind as a whole and reminds anyone listening that they matter.

Listen to 'I’ll Get By' - BELOW:

Recorded as part of energetic album sessions at Parr Street Studios, Liverpool, in the company of producers, James Skelly and Chris Taylor, the short and sweet single – clocking in at just two minutes and 30 seconds – may further deepen comparisons to lyrically dextrous indie poets such as Arctic Monkeys and The Smiths, whilst tremelo guitars and train beat percussion hint more strongly towards Moore’s 1950s influences including Elvis Presley and Patsy Cline.

Made up of the contemplative lyricist-singer plus Rickenbacker-slinging, Johnny Marr-acolyte, Scott Concepcion, Ryan Durrans on drums and the increasingly mysterious ‘Bass Mon Jon’, The Lathums have grabbed summer by the scruff of the neck by both announcing their debut album and returning triumphantly to the stage.

At the time that their debut album lands, The Lathums will complete a run of UK dates with Blossoms just days ahead of their own, huge, rescheduled headline UK Tour kicking off. Having played to just 300 people in Manchester on their debut headline tour in early 2020, the band leaps towards a SOLD-OUT date at the 3,500-capacity O2 Victoria Warehouse, Manchester in addition to similarly upgraded nights at Barrowland, Glasgow and the O2 Forum Kentish Town, London.

The full list of The Lathums 2021 UK Headline Tour dates and festival appearances is as follows:

Sat 28 Aug Portsmouth, Victorious Festival
Sun 5 Sep Warrington, Neighbourhood Weekender
Fri 10 Sep Glasgow, TRNSMT 2021
Sun 26 Sep Manchester, Castlefield Bowl – w/Snow Patrol
Wed 29 Sep Newcastle, O2 Academy*
Thu 30 Sep Birmingham, O2 Institute*
Sat 2 Oct Nottingham, Rock City*
Sat 3 Oct Liverpool, Sound City
Mon 4 Oct Cambridge, Junction
Tue 5 Oct Brighton, Concorde
Thu 7 Oct London, O2 Forum Kentish Town*
Fri 8 Oct Southampton, The 1865
Sat 9 Oct Bristol, SWX
Mon 11 Oct Sheffield, O2 Academy*
Tue 12 Oct Leeds, O2 Academy*
Thu 14 Oct Glasgow, Barrowland Ballroom*
Sat 16 Oct Manchester, O2 Victoria Warehouse* SOLD OUT
Fri 12 Nov Hull, Social - SOLD OUT^
Sun 14 Nov Leicester, O2 Academy 2 - SOLD OUT^
Mon 15 Nov Stoke, Sugarmill - SOLD OUT^
Tue 16 Nov Cardiff, Globe SOLD OUT^
Wed 17 Nov Oxford O2 Academy 2 - SOLD OUT^
Fri 3 Dec Dunfermline, PJ Molloys - SOLD OUT^
Sat 4 Dec Dundee, Fat Sam's^
Mon 6 Dec Aberdeen, The Lemon Tree - SOLD OUT^
Tue 7 Dec Edinburgh, The Liquid Room - SOLD OUT^
*Upgraded and Rescheduled Dates
^Rescheduled Dates

Tickets for all venues are sold via www.gigsandtours.comwww.ticketmaster.co.uk and www.thelathums.comAll previously purchased tickets remain valid for rescheduled dates.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*