STEVEN WILSON announces major 2018 UK & Irish tour including a date at Belfast’s Mandela Hall

STEVEN WILSON announces major 2018 UK & Irish tour including a date at Belfast’s Mandela Hall

Steven Wilson has announced details of To The Bone – his expansive, brilliant fifth album – and a major 2018 UK tour including a return to one of the country’s most iconic venues, the Royal Albert Hall.

A gloriously dynamic modernist pop record as imagined by the UK’s biggest underground artist, To The Bone is released August 18th via Caroline International on CD / 2 x 12” / Blu-Ray / super deluxe box set and all digital platforms.

Fusing driving futurist rock and spectral electronics to elegiac hyper-space ambience and dizzying, squalling guitars, To The Bone is Steven Wilson’s hat-tip to the hugely ambitious progressive pop records of his youth (think Peter Gabriel’s So, Talk Talk’s Colour of Spring, Tears for Fears Seeds of Love).

Lyrically, the album’s eleven tracks veer from the paranoid chaos of the post-truth era and the creeping self-loathing of the technology age to steely fly-on-the-wall observations of the everyday lives of religious fundamentalists with a welcome shot or two of wide-eyed escapism. Sonically and melodically stunning, To The Bone is a high definition snapshot of the disconcerting times we live in.

The follow up to 2015’s Hand. Cannot. Erase. (“a smart, soulful and immersive work of art” the Guardian 5*), To The Bone is Steven Wilson’s first album since signing with Caroline International (Iggy Pop, Underworld, Thurston Moore, Glass Animals). Formerly the founder and mainstay of outsider rock band Porcupine Tree, Steven released his first record under his own name – Insurgentes – in 2008. He has been resolutely independent throughout a three-decade career that’s made him the most successful British artist you’ve never heard of.

Steven Wilson has announced details of a huge global tour that takes in over one hundred shows across all five continents including a 25 date US tour that sees him return to the renowned Beacon Theatre, NY after last year’s sell out there. His European dates are:

Wed 31st Jan Portugal, Lisbon, Sala Tejo at the MEO Arena
Thu 1st Feb Spain, Madrid, Wiznik Centre
Sat 3rd Feb Spain, Barcelona, L’Auditori
Sun 4th Feb France, Marseille, Silo
Tue 6th Feb France, Lyon, Le Transbordeur
Wed 7th Feb Switzerland, Zurich, Halle 622
Fri 9th Feb Italy, Milan, Teatro Degli Arcimboldi
Sat 10th Feb Italy, Rome, Atlantico
Mon 12th Feb Germany, Frankfurt, Alte Oper
Tue 13th Feb Germany, Ravensburg, Oberachwabenhalle
Wed 14th Feb Austria, Vienna, Gasometer
Thu 15th Feb Germany, Berlin, Admiralpalast
Sat 17th Feb Poland, Zabrze, House of Music and Dance
Sun 18th Feb Poland, Poznan, Earth Hall
Tue 20th Feb Germany, Hamburg, Mehr Theatre
Sat 24th Feb Finland, Helsinki, The Circus
Mon 26th Feb Sweden, Stockholm, Cirkus
Tue 27th Feb Norway, Oslo, Oslo Concert House
Wed 28th Feb Norway, Bergen, USF Verftet
Thu 1st Mar Norway, Stavanger, Konserthuset – Zetlitz
Sat 3rd Mar Denmark, Copenhagen, Vega Main Hall
Mon 5th Mar Germany, Essen, Colosseum
Wed 7th Mar The Netherlands, Amsterdam, Heineken Music Hall
Fri 9th Mar Belgium, Brussels, AB
Sat 10th Mar Luxembourg, Rockhal Club
Mon 12th Mar France, Paris, The Olympia
Tue 13th Mar France, Lille, Theatre Sebastopol

Sat 17th Mar Belfast Mandela Hall
Mon 19th Mar Dublin Olympia Theatre
Wed 21st Mar Cardiff St David’s Hall
Thu 22nd Mar Birmingham Symphony Hall
Sat 24th Mar Glasgow Clyde Auditorium
Sun 25th Mar Gateshead Sage 1
Tue 27th Mar London Royal Albert Hall
Sat 31st Mar Manchester Bridgewater Hall

Tickets are on sale from 9am Friday 12th May (with a fan only pre-sale on Wednesday 10th May) via www.Ticketmaster.ie

To The Bone tracklisting:

1. To The Bone
2. Nowhere Now
3. Pariah
4. The Same Asylum As Before
5. Refuge
6. Permanating
7. Blank Tapes
8. People Who Eat Darkness
9. Song of I
10. Detonation
11. Song of Unborn

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*