STEREOLAB share ‘Household Names’, from Electronically Possessed (Switched On Volume 4), out Feb 26th

STEREOLAB Announce 'Electronically Possessed' (Switched On Volume 4) - Out Feb 26th 1
Photo credit: David Cowlard

Today, Stereolab have shared ‘Household Names’, the latest single from the upcoming Electrically Possessed [Switched On Volume 4], the fourth addition to their Switched On series of compilations. This new volume will be released via Warp Records and Duophonic UHF Disks on February 26th.

Following on from the first volume released in 1992, 1995’s Refried Ectoplasm, and 1998’s Aluminum Tunes, the long-awaited fourth instalment in the Stereolab story collates 3 LPs worth of material, all remastered where possible from the original tapes and overseen by the band. It features all the tracks from out-of-print and sought after mini-album The First of the Microbe Hunters, one-off and hard to find tour 7″s, compilation tracks, art installation work and a couple of unreleased outtakes from the Mars Audiac Quintet and Dots and Loops recording sessions.

‘Household Names’ was first released in 2000 on The First of the Microbe Hunters. Speaking about the track, Tim Gane explains: “During a two-week break in touring for the Cobra and Phases Group LP we decided to go into Blackwing Studios to record a bunch of tracks ‘old style’ – straight to tape for what would become the world’s first double-mini album First of the Microbe Hunters. It was a spur of the moment kind of thing and there was only one song already written (‘Outer Bongolia’ – originally played by Turn On for three concerts played around the time of the release of their LP 28/07/97]) and one song that had already been recorded and mixed earlier (‘I Feel The Air’ – originally meant for Dots & Loops but we run out of time to mix it for the mastering and so it was left off).

Consequently – as time was tight – all of the other tracks were written very fast across two or three days. ‘Household Names’ was one of three tracks written on the first day (according to the running order on my Fostex cassettes) and it’s a little bit of a hark back up to the poppy side of the ETK period I suppose. The track has some lovely singing throughout and great keyboard arrangements courtesy of Sean O’Hagan. We played pretty much as a band and unlike the previous two LPs we didn’t use any computers. Andy’s working title for the song was ‘Dicky Bows at Dawn’, a reference to its cabaret wedding band sound.”

Listen to ‘Household Names’- BELOW:

Electrically Possessed [Switched On Vol. 4] will be presented in a bespoke gatefold sleeve with a download card and housed inside a polythene wallet. Initial vinyl and CD editions will be available on mirri board stock and include a sticker insert – these editions will only be available from indie stores. A limited colour edition of the vinyl available via the Duophonic/Ochre store has now sold out. Stereolab are also launching their new homeware range which is now available to pre-order with Switched On 4 from their Duophonic/Ochre store. This consists of four different styles of enamel mug, metal tray, tea towel, set of 8 Melamine coasters and a tote bag.

The next/future Stereolab limited edition disks will be sold via a no purchase necessary Duophonic UHF Disks lottery. For your chance to win please register here or subscribe to the Lab Report mailing list. All purchases of Electrically Possessed [Switched On Vol. 4] on LP or CD will be given a 10% discount for the next Stereolab limited edition release. Winners will be contacted via e-mail and given details of how to purchase the disk. Each LP will be personalised with the name of the winner handwritten onto the sleeve. T’s & C’s apply.

Electrically Possessed follows on from the 2019 year-long reissue campaign which saw seven Stereolab albums reissued via Warp Records and Duophonic UHF Disks, as expanded and remastered editions on vinyl, compact disk and digital.


CD/Digital Tracklist

01 – Outer Bongolia
02 – Intervals
03 – Barock-Plastic
04 – Nomus Et Phusis
05 – I Feel The Air {Of Another Planet}
06 – Household Names
07 – Retrograde Mirror Form
08 – Solar Throw-Away [Original version]
09 – Pandora’s Box Of Worms
10 – L’exotisme Interieur


01 – The Super-It
02 – Jump Drive Shut-Out
03 – Explosante Fixe
04 – Fried Monkey Eggs [Instrumental version]
05 – Monkey Jelly
06 – B.U.A
07 – Free Witch and No Bra Queen
08 – Heavy Denim Loop Pt 2
09 – Variation One
10 – Monkey Jelly [Beats]
11 – Dimension M2
12 – Solar Throw-Away
13 – Calimero
14 – Fried Monkey Eggs [Vocal]
15 – Speck Voice

Vinyl Tracklist

A1 – Outer Bongolia
A2 – Intervals

B1 – Barock-Plastic
B2 – Nomus Et Phusis
B3 – I Feel The Air {Of Another Planet}

C1 – Household Names
C2 – Retrograde Mirror Form
C3 – Solar Throw-Away [Original version]
C4 – Pandora’s Box Of Worms
C5 – L’exotisme Interieur

D1 – The Super-It
D2 – Jump Drive Shut-Out
D3 – Explosante Fixe
D4 – Fried Monkey Eggs [Instrumental version]
D5 – Monkey Jelly
D6 – B.U.A

E1 – Free Witch and No Bra Queen
E2 – Heavy Denim Loop Pt 2
E3 – Variation One
E4 – Monkey Jelly [Beats]
E5 – Dimension M2

F1 – Solar Throw-Away
F2 – Calimero
F3 – Fried Monkey Eggs [Vocal]
F4 – Speck Voice

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.