ST. PAUL & THE BROKEN BONES share new single ‘Minotaur’ from upcoming album ‘The Alien Coast’

ST. PAUL & THE BROKEN BONES share new single 'Minotaur' from upcoming album 'The Alien Coast'
Photo credit: Bobbi Rich

St. Paul & The Broken Bones have released ‘Minotaur’, the newest single from their ambitious forthcoming album ‘The Alien Coast ‘— out on 28th January on ATO Records. The track’s accompanying live performance video was shot in one take at Ol Elegante studios in the band’s hometown of Birmingham, AL.

‘Minotaur’ is an irresistibly groove-heavy falsetto-laced track partly inspired by Picasso’s use of the mythical beast as his alter ego in a series of paintings from the 1930s. Rooted in a guitar loop that guitarist Browan Lollar dreamed up on a tour bus in Europe, the song serves as a soulful meditation on identity and trauma. “‘Minotaur’ is about fearing something within you, and the loneliness that comes from that,” says lead vocalist Paul Janeway. “Especially if you grew up in an abusive situation, there can be this feeling of having something in you that you don’t want to encounter or even recognize.”

Watch the video for ‘Minotaur’ – BELOW:

‘The Alien Coast’ defies expectations yet reflects the galvanizing musicianship that has earned the band massive acclaim, three Billboard 200 debuts, an opening slot with the Rolling Stones, a legendary NPR Tiny Desk performance with over seven million views, and multiple national tv bookings including the first-ever musical performance on Stephen Colbert’s Late Show and a Daytime EMMY nomination for one of their CBS Saturday Morning appearances. Recently on his Rocket Hour radio show, Elton John, who is a longtime fan of the band and has hosted them at his Oscar party, said that “Paul Janeway is one of my favourite vocalists” and also shared a song from the new album.

The album’s recently released “The Last Dance” considers “the juxtaposition of dancing while facing certain doom,” says Janeway. Its video was directed by Machete Bang Bang (Coldplay, Jeff Goldblum, Evan Rachel Wood) and features dancer Liv Mai.  The band also recently shared a one-take live version of “The Last Dance” as well as“Love Letter From A Red Roof Inn.”

St. Paul & The Broken Bones will launch a 45-date international tour soon, featuring some of their biggest headlining shows to date including The Beacon Theatre in New York City on March 11. The band will also be performing at the Orion Amphitheater on May 14 in their home state of Alabama with Brittany Howard, Drive-By Truckers and Mavis Staples.

St. Paul & The Broken Bones is Paul Janeway, Jesse Phillips (bass), Browan Lollar (guitar), Kevin Leon (drums), Al Gamble (keyboards), Allen Branstetter (trumpet), Chad Fisher (trombone), and Amari Ansari (saxophone).

St. Paul & The Broken Bones UK Tour Dates:
February 1, 2022: Electric Ballroom in London, UK
February 3, 2022: Brudenell Social Club in Leeds, UK
February 4, 2022: Old Fruitmarket in Glasgow, UK

‘The Alien Coast’ Tracklist
1. 3000 AD Mass
2. Bermejo and The Devil
3. Minotaur
4. Atlas
5. The Last Dance
6. Ghost In Smoke
7. Alien Coast
8. Hunter and His Hounds
9. Tin Man Love
10. Popcorn Ceiling
11. Love Letter From A Red Roof Inn

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.