SHAME announce new album ‘Drunk Tank Pink’ – Watch video for new track ‘Water in the Well’

SHAME announce new album 'Drunk Tank Pink' - Watch video for new track 'Water in the Well' 1

shame have today announced that their long-anticipated new album, Drunk Tank Pink, will be released on 15th Jan via Dead Oceans. Alongside, the band have shared a Pedro Takahashi directed video for brand new single ‘Water in the Well’ and announced brand new socially distanced UK tour dates for February 2021.

There are moments on Drunk Tank Pink where you almost have to reach for the sleeve to check this is the same band who made 2018’s Songs Of Praise. Such is the jump shame have made from the riotous post-punk of their debut to the sprawling adventurism laid out in the bigger, bolder James Ford produced follow-up.

This creative leap, in part, was sparked by the band’s recent crash back down to earth, having spent their entire adult life on the road. It stems from their beginnings as wide-eyed teenagers, cutting their teeth in the pubs and small venues of South London, to becoming the most celebrated new band in Britain, catapulted by the success of their breakthrough debut album.

Readjusting to a new normal back home with – for the first time since the band’s formation – no live shows on the horizon, frontman Charlie Steen attempted to party his way out of psychosis. “When you’re exposed to all of that for the first time you think you’re fucking indestructible,” he notes. “After a few years, you reach a point where you realise everyone needs a bath and a good night’s sleep sometimes.”

An intense bout of waking fever-dreams convinced Steen that self-medicating his demons wasn’t a very healthy plan of action and it was probably time to stop and take a look inward. “You become very aware of yourself and when all of the music stops, you’re left with the silence,” reflects Steen. “And that silence is a lot of what this record is about.”

In a room (well, more of a cupboard that used to house a washing machine until it was lugged outside and replaced with a bed) painted in a shade of pink used to calm down drunk tank inmates, Steen cocooned himself away to reflect and write. In the room dubbed ‘the womb’ – through the prism of his own surrealistic dreams – he addressed the psychological toll life in the band had taken on him. The disintegration of his relationship, the loss of a sense of self and the growing identity crisis both the band and an entire generation were feeling.

“The common theme when I was catching up with my mates was this identity crisis everyone was having,” reflects Steen. “No one knows what the fuck is going on.”

“It didn’t matter that we’d just come back off tour thinking, ‘How do we deal with reality!?’” agrees guitarist Sean Coyle-Smith. “I had mates that were working in a pub and they were also like, ‘How do I deal with reality!?’ Everyone was going through it.”

Coyle-Smith took a different tac to Steen and barricaded himself in his bedroom. Barely leaving the house and instead obsessively deconstructing his very approach to playing and making music, he picked apart the threads of the music he was devouring (Talking Heads, Nigerian High Life, the dry funk of ESG, Talk Talk…) and created work infused with panic and crackling intensity.

“For this album, I was so bored of playing the guitar,” he recalls, “the thought of even playing it was mind-numbing. So I started to write and experiment in all these alternative tunings and not write or play in a conventional ‘rock’ way.”

Watch the video for ‘Water in the Well’ – BELOW:

The genius of Drunk Tank Pink is how Steen’s lyrical themes dovetail with the music. Opener Alphabet dissects the premise of performance over a siren call of nervous, jerking guitars, its chorus thrown out like a beer bottle across a mosh pit. Nigel Hitter, meanwhile, turns the mundanity of routine into something spectacular via a disjointed jigsaw of syncopated rhythms and broken wristed punk-funk. The result is an enormous expansion of shame’s sonic arsenal.

Album Tracklisting


Nigel Hitter

Born in Luton

March Day

Water in the Well

Snow Day

Human, for a Minute

Great Dog


Harsh Degrees

Station Wagon

Drunk Tank Pink

UK tour dates

(all dates will be socially distanced / compliant with gov’t regulations)


02 – Brudenell Social Club, Leeds

02 – Brudenell Social Club, Leeds

03 – Teesside University, Middlesbrough

05 – YES, Manchester

05 – YES, Manchester

06 – SWG3, Glasgow

08 – The Crescent, York

09 – The Parish, Huddersfield

10 – Trades Club, Hebden Bridge

12 – Bootleg Social, Blackpool

13 – Empire, Coventry

14 – The Venue, Derby

17 – The Corn Exchange, Cambridge

18 – Esquires, Bedford

20 – Craufurd Arms, Milton Keynes

20 – Craufurd Arms, Milton Keynes

23 – The Horn, St Albans

23 – The Horn, St Albans

24 – Assembly Hall Theatre, Tunbridge Wells

27 – Chalk, Brighton

For tickets visit

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.