Seasick steve

Produced and written by Seasick Steve and recorded in his front room at the little farm where he lives, it’s his seventh studio record and most ambitious work yet. Along with longtime drummer Dan Magnusson, the album also features Luther Dickinson (Mississippi All Stars) playing slide guitar on two tracks, Georgina Leach on fiddle and Ben Miller playing jaw harp on lead track ‘Summertime Boy’, a song celebrating the life and sunshine of California.

“The whole record is mostly me and Dan sitting there drinking and playing,” says Steve. “There ain’t a whole lot of producing going on! But I know what I’m doing and I know what I want.”

Since appearing on Jools Holland’s Hootenanny New Year’s Eve 2006, Seasick Steve’s career both on record and onstage has gone from strength to strength. It’s been quite a ride, and in the process he has established himself as one of the best live acts in music today. Fans of all ages can testify to this, having witnessed incredible live performances at festivals and venues round the world.

‘Sonic Soul Surfer’ takes Seasick Steve into hitherto uncharted territory on what is arguably his best album to date, from the haunted backwoods hillbilly twang of ‘In Peaceful Dreams’ to the slippery boogie shuffle of the car song ‘Barracuda ’68’ and the rolling groove of ‘Sonic Soul Boogie’.

Lyrically too, it broaches new territory, with celebrations of wanderlust and good-time boogie behaviour side-by-side with thoughtful ruminations on time past and time passing, most impressively in ‘Heart Full Of Scars’, where he acknowledges how the older you get, the more emotional baggage you carry.

‘Sonic Soul Surfer’ is Seasick Steve’s first album since 2013’s ‘Hubcap Music’, which featured guests such as John Paul Jones and Jack White. Nominated for numerous Brit awards he won the Mojo award for Best Breakthrough Act in 2007.

‘Sonic Soul Surfer’ Tracklisting

1. Roy’s Gang

2. Bring It On

3. Dog Gonna Play

4. In Peaceful Dreams

5. Summertime Boy

6. Swamp Dog

7. Sonic Soul Boogie

8. Right On Time

9. Barracuda ‘68

10. We Be Moving

11. Your Name

12. Heart Full Of Scars

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.