PSYCHO COMEDY – Certifiable Merseyside five-piece escape with new single ‘Michigan State’

PSYCHO COMEDY - Certifiable Merseyside five-piece escape with new single ‘Michigan State’
credit Sophia Duff

Slipping their straitjackets for a second time this season, certifiable Merseyside five-piece Psycho Comedy escape Deltasonic’s asylum with their eyes on new single ‘Michigan State’. With neurotic bass patterns and howling top lines from deranged frontman Shaun Powell, ‘Michigan State’ presents a raucous glimpse of insanity from the colourful and chaotic world of Psycho Comedy. Released on Saturday, September 16th via iconic Liverpool imprint Deltasonic, prepare to run riot to the sound of your new favourite five-some.

Determinedly self-defined as a considered concept that reacts to the delirium of the modern world, yet with distinct references to an admired past, Psycho Comedy represents a diverse, poetic, art-filled and cinematic world that thrives on the edge.

On the new release, Shaun Powell remarks: “Michigan State is about searching for that definitive mindset and how finding the place ‘Smashville’ in Michigan state will be the ultimate amusement and satisfaction.”

With this single Psycho Comedy cast their line across the Atlantic and through the ages to revive the dying art of maniac, artful abandon, the likes of which have rarely been seen since New York’s gender-bending, opiate-peppered punk heydey. The single’s digital release is complemented by a limited edition white cassette, released in collaboration with Blak Hand Records.

Listen to ‘Michigan State’ BELOW:

A coming together of old acquaintances, couples and mutually-admired musicians, it is a shared lust for the sights and sounds of a CBGB and Max’s Kansas City era New York City that lights Psycho Comedy’s collective fire. A sweat-drenched and stripped Iggy Pop, the studied experimentation of Television and the unabashed filth of the New York Dolls course quickly through the band’s creative vein. Closer to home, the band’s name pays tribute and points it’s creative compass towards the comedy of Rik Mayall, while the expansive sounds of home city heroes, Echo and The Bunnymen are held aloft as guides towards an evocative, multi-instrumental light.

‘Michigan State’ follows previous release ‘The Hangman’, an echoing and ominous cut of ‘insanity ‘rock and roll. Watch the video for that here. Psycho Comedy is Shaun Powell (vocals/guitar) Connor Duff (bass), Jack Thompson (noise guitar), Lydia McGhee (rhythm guitar) and Jack Williams (drums).

Psycho Comedy Live Dates

November 11th @ Bluecoat, Liverpool – Captain Beefheart celebration

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.