PAUL DRAPER shares the video for new single ‘You’ve Got No Life Skills, Baby!’

PAUL DRAPER shares the video for new single ‘You’ve Got No Life Skills, Baby!’

Today Kscope release ‘You’ve Got No Life Skills, Baby!’, the new single by acclaimed songwriter and former Mansun frontman Paul Draper. A satirical look at relationship breakups, ‘You’ve Got No Life Skills, Baby!’ is one of Paul’s best songs in decades. Instantly catchy, it is reminiscent of the best art-rock-meets-pop moments of Mansun’s Attack Of The Grey Lantern. The accompanying, wry, somewhat surreal, video is a band performance interspersed with Paul practising random ‘life skills’, exploring the dark satire of the song.

‘You’ve Got No Life Skills, Baby!’ is taken from the forthcoming album Cult Leader Tactics – a lyric from the song. A satire on the genre of self-help manuals, it details how to get to the top of your chosen profession, or how to get on in life in general and in affairs of the heart, by acting in a Machiavellian manner and employing dirty tricks or ‘Cult Leader Tactics’ to achieve your life goals. After experiencing these types of human behaviour and themes, the album arrives at the conclusion the only true answer in life is love.

Paul plays all the instruments on the single with Jon Barnett on drums, as well as the majority of the instruments across the album’s 11-tracks, including guitars, drum machines and synthesisers. The album was produced with long-time collaborator, acclaimed producer Paul ‘P-Dub’ Walton at the latter’s Loft Studios, with additional engineering by Scott Knapper.

Watch the video for ‘You’ve Got No Life Skills, Baby!’ – BELOW:

Cult Leader Tactics features a collaboration with acclaimed musician and producer Steven Wilson on the co-written ‘Omega Man’, and guest appearances from Gamaliel ‘Gam’ Rendle Traynor from the band Sweat, who played, arranged and engineered all strings (recorded at Sweat Studios, Peckham, London), as well as a 288-person C.L.T. Lockdown Choir who sing on ‘Lyin’ Bout Who U Sleep With’.

Cult Leader Tactics tracklist:
1. Cult Leader Tactics
2. Internationalle
3. Dirty Trix
4. Cult Leader Tactics in E-Flat Minor
5. You’ve Got No Life Skills, Baby!
6. U Killed My Fish
7. Everyone Becomes A Problem Eventually
8. Annie
9. Talkin’ Behind My Back
10. Omega Man
11. Lyin’ ‘Bout Who U Sleep With

Cult Leader Tactics will be available on the following formats:

4CD Deluxe Book Edition, including a hardback book
Gatefold single LP
Gatefold single LP indie-only release, comes with a bonus 7” featuring a second collaboration with Steven Wilson
Gatefold single coloured LP
Digipack CD

Paul and his band will undertake a 21-date tour at the end of February, playing stripped back versions of songs from the new album, Spooky Action and Mansun classics and rarities:

27 Sun Oxford 02 Academy 2
28 Mon Reading Sub89

1 Tue Chester The Live Rooms
2 Wed Leeds Brudenell Social Club
4 Fri Aberdeen The Tunnels
5 Sat Glasgow King Tut’s Wah Wah Hut
6 Sun Birmingham The 02 Institute 2
8 Tue Norwich The Waterfront Studio
9 Wed Manchester Gorilla
10 Thu Hull Social On Humber Street
11 Fri Sheffield The Leadmill – The Steel Stage
12 Sat Newcastle St Doms
14 Mon Cardiff The Globe
15 Tue Exeter Phoenix
16 Wed Bristol The Fleece
17 Thur Leicester 02 Academy 2
18 Fri Bedford Bedford Esquires
20 Sun Bournemouth The Old Fire Station
21 Mon Portsmouth Wedgewood Rooms
22 Tue Brighton Komedia
23 Wed London Islington Assembly Hall

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.