OSCAR LANG shares his new single 'Stuck' & announces his debut album 'Chew The Scenery'

OSCAR LANG shares his new single 'Stuck' & announces his debut album 'Chew The Scenery' 2

London based artist, multi-instrumentalist and producer Oscar Lang has shared his brand new single ‘Stuck’ and announced his debut album Chew The Scenery - out 16 July on Dirty Hit. Produced by Rich Turvey (The Coral, Blossoms), ‘Stuck’ premiered last night on BBC Radio 1 as an Annie Mac First Play and comes with an accompanying video by James Slater.

Chew The Scenery continues Lang’s prolific run of form, following the release of 3 EPs in 2020 alone. Traversing crisp, Beatles-esque psychedelia on Overthunk, snappy melodics on Hand Over Your Head, and searing psych-rock on Antidote To Being Bored, full length offering Chew The Scenery is an amalgamation of the broad sonic palette of this talented young songwriter.

Carrying on his rich vein of stomping garage rock bangers, new single ‘Stuck’ culminates with Lang’s ferocious vocals being layered over one another in an overwhelming rush of emotions.

Lang explains: ‘Stuck’ is about the feeling of replaying embarrassing situations in your mind to the point where you feel overwhelmed with all the voices in your head. I spend a lot of the time re-hashing old experiences and often it means I’m a bit spaced out and can’t pay attention to things because I’m so distracted by my own thoughts. I wanted to express that chaos of all those voices running through my head down into a song.”

Watch 'Stuck' - BELOW:

With Chew The Scenery taking in scuzzy indie-rock dynamics, psychedelic flourishes, and even orchestral grandiosity along the way, Oscar Lang’s guiding light has been the art of embracing feeling. Though he lost his mother to suicide when he was just seven, Lang’s love of music comes in no small part due to her. A musician herself with a short-lived pop career in the ‘80s, she gifted Lang his first piano - the same one that can be heard on his earliest recordings, including the debut single ‘She Likes Another Boy’. “Thinking about her always spurred me on with music,” he says. “I like to think you let your parents live through you and that the best thing to do is not to grieve them, but give them a good life. I’m living the life she wanted for us both, and that’s really cool.”

By synthesising his love of bedroom pop, lo-fi indie rock, and Beach Boys-esque orchestral harmonies into one package, debut album Chew The Scenery is both Lang’s most cohesive project to date and his most ambitious. Spanning topics such as growing pains, love, romance, friendships and the pitfalls of social media on our collective mental health, and provided an outlet for Lang to escape the monotony of various UK lockdowns. “Over the past two years, the sound of my music has changed a lot, from bedroom pop to rock” Lang explains. “We recorded the album over a month up in Liverpool. It was a nice break away from the tedious lockdown in the UK as I got to spend a month away with my mates doing what I love. I think you can hear that built-up boredom being released on the record.”

Mastering the art of production in his school years, Oscar Lang’s skill as a producer-led to a fateful collaborative relationship with fellow Dirty Hit signee Beabadoobee - with Lang recording some of Bea’s first tracks at his home. He has since collaborated as producer and co-writer with an impressive number of rising indie and pop artists, including Alfie Templeman, Girl In Red, Claud, and Sports Team. While Lang’s solo output to date has drawn adoration from the likes of BBC Radio 1 DJs Annie Mac and Jack Saunders, national press such as The Sunday Times and i newspaper, and global tastemakers from Australia’s Triple J to American culture bible The FADER.

Chew The Scenery
Oscar Lang - Chew The Scenery artwork - by Giovanni Forlino

Oscar Lang - Chew The Scenery - out 16/07/2021 via Dirty Hit

1. Our Feature Presentation

2. 21st Century Hobby

3. I Could Swear

4. Stuck

5. Yeah!

6. Headphones

7. Write Me A Letter

8. Intermission

9. Are You Happy

10. Quarter Past Nine

11. Take Time Out

12. Final Call

13. Thank You

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.