MIDDLE KIDS Announce debut album 'Lost Friends' - check out first single 'MISTAKE'

MIDDLE KIDS Announce debut album 'Lost Friends' - check out first single 'MISTAKE'
Credit: Maclay Heriot

Today Australian trio Middle Kids announce that they have signed with Lucky Number (Dream Wife, Hinds, Sleigh Bells, Sunflower Bean) and will release their eagerly-awaited debut album, Lost Friends, on May 4, 2018. In addition, they have announced a London show at The Moth Club on April 2.

On Lost Friends, Hannah Joy, Harry Day and Tim Fitz bring back their knack for haunting hooks, lyrical poignancy and irresistible indie rock appeal that critics praised in their self-titled first EP, released in February 2017. This radiant collection of new songs conjures melodic nostalgia for some of songwriting's very best, rich in heartfelt build and beautiful simplicity.

Check out the video for 'Mistake' BELOW:

Middle Kids made a powerful debut last year with the release of their internationally acclaimed self-titled EP, featuring singles “Edge of Town” and “Your Love”. The band dazzled at several SXSW and The Great Escape showcases, made their U.S. television debut on Conan and supported legendary acts like Ryan Adams and The War On Drugs.

The new album, Lost Friends, is the kind of album that sucker-punches you in the gut, revealing its nuances only after repeated listens. The songs’ edges are jagged, the production clean, stray imperfections imbue warmth and a human touch. Middle Kids craft classic hooks and riffs that tangle up in your brain like licorice and choruses that linger long after the song has faded. And they’ve bonded over a greater sense of what their music should accomplish.

“In a time where a lot of division is growing, we want to be part of the conversation that unites people around certain ideals that are universal, like hope and love,” says Hannah Joy. “That’s so much a thread throughout this album: Even though things are tough, it’s worth believing in something good and in the idea that we can heal. And in some ways, I wanted the music to be beautiful and a respite from what’s going on.”

Lost Friends track-listing:

01. Bought It

02. Mistake

03. Edge Of Town

04. Maryland

05. On My Knees

06. Don’t Be Hiding

07. Hole

08. Please

09. Lost Friends

10. Never Start

11. Tell Me Something

12. So Long Farewell I’m Gone


Apr 02 | London, UK @ MOTH Club

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.