KULA SHAKER to release one-off exclusive version of John Lennon’s protest song ‘Gimme Some Truth’

Kula Shaker
Credit: @bazzamills

On November 11th 2022, Kula Shaker are to release their first one-off exclusive single since 1997’s ‘Hush’. The band have recorded a brand new version of John Lennon’s protest song ‘Gimme Some Truth’ and the release date of November 11th, which is Remembrance Day in the UK, has been chosen specifically to pay tribute to John Lennon’s anti-war message in the song.

Kula Shaker’s Crispian Mills, a life-long admirer of all of John Lennon’s work, has written some alternative lyrics to the song’s verses in an effort to bring its message up to date and relevant to today’s global issues, but Lennon’s publishers refused permission to release the new lyrics, so the single, which produced by Mills and Kula’s bass player Alonza Bevan, stays faithful to Lennon’s original words from 1971.

The video for the track is a new edit of Peter Jackson’s World War One footage from ‘They Shall Not Grow Old’ which shows every aspect of war in a powerful and emotional way, from the tragic horrors of violence to the humour and camaraderie of those who were on the front line.

Kula Shaker play London’s Shepherds Bush Empire on December 8th, which is the anniversary of Lennon’s death, and there will be a special tribute to Lennon in the show.

The band also play Norwich Waterfront on December 7th and head out for a 14-date UK tour in January and February next year in support of their much acclaimed new album ‘1st Congregational Church of Eternal Love (and free hugs)’.

Kula Shaker will play the following shows:

7 December Norwich, Waterfront
8 December London, O2 Shepherd’s Bush Empire
19 January Edinburgh, Liquid Room
20 January Sheffield, Leadmill
21 January Liverpool, Camp & Furnace
23 January Newcastle, Wylam Brewery
24 January Leeds, Brudenell Social Club
26 January Nottingham, Rescue Rooms
37 January Birmingham, Institute
28 January Cambridge, Junction
30 January Exeter, Phoenix
31 January Brighton, Chalk
1 February Northampton, Roadmender
3 February Cardiff, Tramshed
4 February Southampton, Engine Rooms
5 February Bristol, Trinity

INTERVIEW: Crispian Mills from Kula Shaker on new album ‘1st Congregational Church Of Eternal Love and Free Hugs’ – Listen here

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.