Keane Lead Singer Tom Chaplin Announces Solo Album

Keane Lead Singer Tom Chaplin Announces Solo Album

Tom Chaplin releases his first ever solo album, ‘The Wave’, October 14th featuring eleven incredibly honest and ultimately uplifting songs written by Tom, produced by Matt Hales (Aqualung, Lianne La Havas) and recorded in Pasadena, California and London.

It is the first time Tom has stepped outside Keane, the anthemic, multi-million selling British band who scored 5 number one albums between 2004 and 2013. His unmistakable voice drives all eleven tracks with a range of emotions, never previously scaled.

From the first evocative track ‘Still Waiting’, Tom takes us on quite a bumpy ride, a cinematic journey through life’s ups and downs that is both uplifting and incredibly moving. “Buried in the rubble, there’s a boy in trouble, reaching for a piece of the sky.” he sings. “Clawing at the wreckage, sending out a message, dying to get back to the light”. The music, vocal prowess, and total warmth of this track encapsulates everything this wonderful album is about.

A taster in the form of ‘Hardened Heart’ can be viewed BELOW:

“If there is a narrative of going from dark to light through the course of my record, then ‘Still Waiting’ is firmly rooted in the darkest place,” Tom says.

Another highlight, ‘Hardened Heart’, deals with some of the demons Tom has lived through with an endearing clarity and honesty. While the album occupies some dark spaces, it’s defining emotion is life affirming and joyous. “Musically we wanted ‘Quicksand’ to tread that fine line between joy and despair while making the chorus heartfelt and uplifting.”

Other highlights include the gorgeous, haunting ‘Hold On To Our Love’ and the absolutely inspiring ‘See It So Clear’. ‘The Wave’ is one of the boldest, MOST moving, musically triumphant albums anyone has made this year. It’s a keeper.


Full tracklisting for ‘The Wave’ below:

1. Still Waiting
2. Hardened Heart
3. The River
4. Worthless Words
5. I Remember You
6. Bring The Rain
7. Hold On To Our Love
8. Quicksand
9. Solid Gold
10. See It So Clear
11. The Wave

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as hosting interviews for the weekly XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.