INTERVIEW: Mike Peters from Welsh rock legends The Alarm on their brand new album 'Forwards'

Mike Peters

In episode #134 of The XS Noize Podcast, Mark Millar meets Mike Peters from Welsh rock legends The Alarm to talk about their brand new album 'Forwards.'

Mike Peters returns to life after a year dominated by pneumonia and a serious leukaemia relapse. Forwards is alive with melody and invention and destined to contend for a top place amongst The Alarm's extensive discography, one that boasts over 17 Top 50 UK singles and over six million album sales worldwide.

In between hospitalisation periods, Mike took the band into the recording studio with producer George Williams, and although barely able to speak due to the debilitating effects of chronic illness, he was able to focus the sessions on creating the music for ten new life-affirming Alarm songs.

Described by Bono of U2 as "the second greatest rock and roll band in the world", The Alarm release their forthcoming brand new album, Forwards, on the new date of 16th June 2023, followed by a two-night stand at The Gramercy Theatre in New York on June 23rd / 24th.

In this interview, Mike Peters talks from his hospital bed while he is having his regular treatment to talk about the new album, live shows, performing with U2 in the 80s and lots more.

Listen to episode #134 of The XS Noize Podcast with Mike Peters – BELOW:

Listen via YouTube | Apple Podcasts | Spotify | Stitcher | RSS – Find The XS Noize Music Podcast's complete Archive of episodes here.


Forwards Tracklist:
1. Forwards
2. The Returning
3. Another Way
4. Love and Forgiveness
5. Next
6. Whatever
7. Transition
8. Love Disappearing
9. New Standards
10. X

FORWARDS is being released physically on CD and Vinyl, with the LP release featuring two different record sleeves / coloured vinyl configurations. A classic green/white star / white vinyl edition (Mike's healing colour combo) is being made available to outlets everywhere, along with a unique Metallic / Green vinyl limited edition available exclusively to independent record stores only.

Pre-order link:


Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.