Selkirk’s finest Frightened Rabbit have unveiled ‘Lump Street, taken from their fifth studio album Painting Of A Panic Attack, out 8th April.

Last week the band announced a short run of shows in some of the most iconic rooms in the UK, all now sold out. The tour takes in Manchester’s Academy 2 on 12th April, The Alhambra in Dunfermline on 13th and London’s St John At Hackney Church on 14th April.

Painting Of A Panic Attack, their second major label release, sees a slight reshuffle in band members and the addition of The National’s Aaron Dessner on production duties. It was recorded at Dessner’s Brooklyn studio, where he recorded The National’s ‘High Violet’ and ‘Trouble Will Find Me’, and at Dreamland Studio in Woodstock, NY in the summer of 2015, and sees the band unveil their most cohesive record yet. Electronic elements and Hutchison’s dark and emotionally honest lyrics are expertly woven into the band’s soaring sonic palate, resulting in a body of work that will challenge, excite and surprise longtime FR fans and new listeners alike.

Dessner had to say about the record: “Great songwriters touch a nerve, and I think Scott really touches a nerve with these songs. To me, lyrically, this album is a step above anything he’s written before.”

The band’s previous record Pedestrian Verse was released to much critical acclaim in February 2013; not only did it achieve the band’s highest ever chart placing, hitting the Top 10 in the UK charts but it also saw the band play their biggest show yet, a massive sold-out night at London’s prestigious Brixton Academy. Previously, they released three hugely critically acclaimed albums Sing The Greys, The Midnight Organ Fight and The Winter Of Mixed Drinks on independent label Fatcat Records.

April Tour: SOLD OUT
12 Manchester – Academy 2
13 Dunfermline – Alhambra
14 London – St John at Hackney Church

1. Death Dream
2. Get Out
3. I Wish I Was Sober
4. Woke Up Hurting
5. Little Drum
6. Still Want To Be Here
7. An Otherwise Disappointing Life
8. Break
9. Blood Under The Bridge
10. 400 Bones
11. Lump Street
12. Die Like A Rich Boy

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.