FRANK TURNER shares new single ‘The Gathering’ featuring Jason Isbell and Muse’s Dom Howard

FRANK TURNER shares new single ‘The Gathering’ featuring Jason Isbell and Muse’s Dom Howard

Frank Turner today releases a new single, ‘The Gathering’, out via Xtra Mile Recordings / Polydor Records. His first new music in nearly two years, Turner’s new track features guest appearances from Jason Isbell and Muse’s Dom Howard. ‘The Gathering’ – also the name of Turner’s own limited edition beer launching today – is available to stream now across all platforms from here, alongside details for a series of 9 live show ‘Gatherings’, headed by Frank and Xtra Mile Recordings and running over summer 2021. Tickets for all shows on sale from 10 am BST on Friday, May 7.

Frank Turner didn’t want to write a lockdown song. Over the past year, he’s written and rewritten songs, trying to steer himself away from the subject that will no doubt dominate the charts for years to come. But for a man whose life and career is so intrinsically linked to live music, not referencing the dearth of festivals and gigs started to prove impossible. Not least since Turner himself has spent much of lockdown playing virtual shows from his living room, raising over £250,000 to support endangered grassroots venues up and down the UK, many of which might not have otherwise survived the pandemic.

So it’s fitting that Frank’s new single ‘The Gathering’ – an upbeat, Glam-esque stomp – puts a positive spin on things, anticipating a return to normality. “It’s about that moment when you come together in a room full of people, and you lean on a stranger and sing along with the chorus and get the words wrong,” explains Frank.

Produced by Rich Costey (Biffy Clyro, Foo Fighters), who Frank worked with on 2013’s Tape Deck Heart, ‘The Gathering’ features pile driving drums courtesy of Muse’s Dom Howard and a triumphant guitar solo from Jason Isbell, who recorded remotely from Los Angeles and Nashville. The new track follows a number of huge life changes for the star, who left his beloved London for the Essex coast, also getting married after the release of 2019’s No Man’s Land. “The biggest thing for me about the lockdown experience was about identity,” he says. “I am the guy who tours, this is who I’ve been since I was sixteen. This is the longest period of time I’ve slept in the same bed continuously since I was seven.”

Listen to ‘The Gathering’ – BELOW:

That’s set to change this summer, when – in celebration of the ethos behind ‘The Gathering’ – Frank and label Xtra Mile Recordings will present a run of outdoor shows, helping to kick start the return of live music. It’s been a catastrophic year for the industry as a whole, with the Covid pandemic dealing blow after blow for everyone in the sector. In true punk rock style, Xtra Mile and Turner want to take matters into their own hands with a set of versatile events that can either be socially distanced or full capacity depending on the maximum safety of the audience, performers and crews and in accordance with any national restrictions in place at the time of the event. Frank says; “At a time when the pandemic has wreaked havoc all across the live music industry, I feel like it’s important to get back to the basics – playing live music to entertain a crowd. This summer, with Xtra Mile and friends, I’m taking the punk approach – do it yourself, find a way. I can’t wait.”

A full one-day festival bill, Frank will headline the shows with supports coming from the Xtra Mile label roster including Skinny Lister, Johnny Lloyd, PET NEEDS, Ducking Punches, Non-Canon, Deux Furieuses, BERRIES and Guise, alongside XMR favourites Samantics. Line-ups may vary across the events.

2021 UK ‘Gathering’ Live Shows


19 – Bideford, The Big Sheep*

20 – Bideford, The Big Sheep*

26 – Frome, Cheese & Grain*

27 – Frome, Cheese & Grain*


8 – Liverpool Top Rope Brewery* – competition winners only

17 – Gloucester Llanthony Secunda Priory*

18 – Gloucester Llanthony Secunda Priory*


21 – Manchester Urmston Sports Club (full band show)


3 – Hull, Zebedees Yard*

*duo shows with Matt Nasir

Tickets available from 10 am BST on May 7 from

If any show is cancelled due to Covid restrictions, rescheduled date or a full refund will be

given. Shows will be operating in line with all Government guidelines for everyone’s safety.

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as hosting interviews for the weekly XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.