Cheshire four-piece THE LUKA STATE release their brand new single ‘What’s My Problem’ – Watch Video

Cheshire four-piece THE LUKA STATE release their brand new single ‘What’s My Problem’ - Watch Video

Cheshire four-piece The Luka State release their brand new single ‘What’s My Problem’ on March 15th 2019 via Salt Town Records/Project Music with the single also out now via all digital platforms.

The Luka State are Conrad Ellis (voice, guitar), Sam Bell (bass, voice), Jake Barnabas (drums) and Lewis Pusey (guitars) and they hail from Winsford, Cheshire. Famous for its salt mine, the town also lies halfway between Liverpool and Manchester where music and football are the aspirations of every child. The Luka State chose music.

The band have now enjoyed an incredible 3.2 million Spotify streams (many of those in the past six months) plus a staggering 4.2 million YouTube streams too.

New single ‘What’s My Problem’ is already picking up play via BBC Radio 1, BBC Introducing, BBC 6 Music, Radio X, Amazing Radio, KROQ etc and is a bold step forward in songwriting that hints at the confidence and intricacies soon to be heard on their forthcoming debut LP. Speaking of the single, singer Conrad said, “It’s about people that think that they need other people or objects or material things or love in their life to make them happy, when in fact people need to be happy within themselves before they find true happiness elsewhere, this song’s kind of a warning and message to learn to love yourself.”

‘What’s My Problem’ like their previous single release, ‘Kick In The Teeth,’ was recorded at The Pool, Bermondsey (Oasis, Bloc Party, Nick Cave), produced by northern up-and-comer Jamie Evans and mixed by Alan Moulder (Arctic Monkeys, Queens of the Stone Age, U2). An instantly hooky and boldly commercial release, ‘What’s My Problem’ channels mainstream attitude but still retains a defiant indie swagger. The area The Luka State grew up is a heavy influence for their lyrics, as Conrad confirms; “Our town breeds boredom and despair”. Nevertheless, the band transform that into a working-class vigour in the music they write, with nods to the early work of The Clash, Manic Street Preachers and The Jam. The Luka State’s foundation lies at a youth club where Conrad and Sam first met at the age of twelve, which now serves as their rehearsal space – it also provided them with a venue to showcase their recent short film, Elvis Ain’t Dead. Watch it HERE

Check out the video for ‘What’s My Problem’ – BELOW:

The Luka State will play the following UK live shows in spring 2019, with more headline shows & UK festival dates soon to be added;

8 March London Notting Hill Arts Club

15 March Barrow-In-Furness – Barrow Underground Music Society

26 March Glasgow Broadcast

20 April Manchester Band On The Wall

2 May York – The Fulford Arms

2 June London Camden Rocks Festival (Gabeto)

Tickets for all shows are available now via and the first 50 fans to purchase tickets for each show will receive an exclusive free Luka State T-shirt.

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.