BEN HOWARD shares new track 'Sorry Kid' from his forthcoming album 'Collections From The Whiteout'

BEN HOWARD Announces Royal Festival Hall Shows & Releases 'Far Out' and 'Follies'
Photo Credit: Roddy Bow

Ben Howard is pleased to share a new track, “Sorry Kid,” from his forthcoming album, Collections From The Whiteout. The record, his fourth, will be released this Friday, March 26 through Republic Records.

Sorry Kid is loosely inspired by the story of Anna Sorokin, the Russian born German woman who, after moving to New York City in 2013, posed as a billionaire heiress. She was eventually charged with multiple counts of grand larceny and in 2019 was imprisoned for 4-12 years. She was released earlier this year. Musically, it’s an atmospheric mood-setter that taps into the general aura of Collections From The Whiteout and is another tantalizing taster to a special record.

Listen to 'Sorry Kid' - BELOW:

Last week, Ben shared details of an exclusive one-off global live stream event to celebrate the release of the new record. Filmed at the iconic Goonhilly Earth Station on the Lizard Peninsula in Cornwall, UK, Ben and his band will perform new album tracks for the first time. This show marks the first band performance since the conclusion of a worldwide tour in January 2019, which culminated in a sold-out four-night run at Brixton Academy. The film will be streamed as live on April 8 at 8 pm locally including 8 pm EST as well as 8 pm PST. Tickets are available here.

As previously announced, Ben’s pair of shows at London’s Royal Festival Hall in September have now sold out.

To date, Ben has shared 4 tracks off Collections From The Whiteout - “Far Out,” “Follies Fixture,” “Crowhurst’s Meme,” and “What A Day.” Collections From The Whiteout heralds the first time Ben has opened the door to collaboration, working The National’s Aaron Dessner on production, and a team of players from the likes of Big Thief, This Is The Kit, and Dayes. Strings were orchestrated by Bon Iver/Laura Marling collaborator Rob Moose.

Collections From The Whiteout was made in a state of near-permanent transience as Howard travelled between New York (where he holed up with Dessner at his Long Pond Studio), Devon, and Paris where he once again went into the studio with Dessner. For the last 18 months, however, he’s been enjoying the stability of his new home in Ibiza. It’s from here that he put the finishing touches on the record, as he and Aaron exchanged final mixes online. It’s a substantial record. A sonic adventure that continues this nagging suggestion that Ben Howard is one of the UK’s most inventive and naturally talented of songwriters.

Collections from The Whiteout Tracklisting 

  1. Follies Fixture
  2. What A Day
  3. Crowhurst's Meme
  4. Finders Keepers
  5. Far Out
  6. Rookery
  7. You Have Your Way
  8. Sage That She Was Burning
  9. Sorry Kid
  10. Unfurling
  11. Metaphysical Cantations
  12. Make Arrangements
  13. The Strange Last Flight Of Richard Russell
  14. Buzzard
Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.