Beck has won the Best Rock Album and Album Of The Year awards at the 57th Grammy Awards for his album Morning Phase. His 12th album beat U2’s controversial Songs of Innocence, Ryan Adams’s self titled album, Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers’ Hypnotic Eye and the Black Keys’ Turn Blue to the title.

Previously nominated for Album of the Year in 1997 for his sophomore album Odelay and again in 2000 for Midnite Vultures, Beck has proven the third time is indeed the charm: Morning Phase has taken top honors at the 57th Annual Grammy Awards.

It is the first Album of the Year Grammy win of Beck’s 20+ year career.

Morning Phase was also the winner in the Best Engineered Album (Non-Classical) category.

This brings Beck’s career Grammy tally to five including previous Best Alternative Music Performance awards for the albums Mutations and Odelay and a Best Male Rock Vocal Performance award for the song “Where It’s At.”

Morning Phase was released last February 2015 to fantastic reviews everywhere.

Check out the winners BELOW:

Album Of The Year
Beck — “Morning Phase” (WINNER)

Beyoncé — “Beyoncé”
Ed Sheeran — “X”
Sam Smith — “In The Lonely Hour”
Pharrell Williams — “Girl”

Best New Artist
Sam Smith (WINNER)

Iggy Azalea
Brandy Clark

Best Pop Solo Performance
Pharrell Williams — “Happy” (WINNER)

John Legend — “All of Me” (live)
Sia — “Chandelier”
Sam Smith — “Stay With Me”
Taylor Swift — “Shake It Off”

Best Pop Vocal Album
Sam Smith — “In The Lonely Hour” (WINNER)

Coldplay — “Ghost Stories”
Miley Cyrus — “Bangerz”
Ariana Grande — “My Everything”
Katy Perry — “Prism”
Ed Sheeran — “X”

Best Rock Album
Beck — “Morning Phase” (WINNER)

Ryan Adams — “Ryan Adams”
The Black Keys — “Turn Blue”
Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers — “Hypnotic Eye”
U2 — “Songs of Innocence”

Best R&B Performance
Beyoncé ft. Jay Z — “Drunk In Love” (WINNER)

Chris Brown ft. Usher & Rick Ross — “New Flame”
Jennifer Hudson ft. R. Kelly — “It’s Your World”
Ledisi — “Like This”
Usher — “Good Kisser”

Best Country Album
Miranda Lambert — “Platinum” (WINNER)

Dierks Bentley — “Riser”
Eric Church — “The Outsiders”
Lee Ann Womack — “The Way I’m Livin'”
Brandy Clark — “12 Stories”

The Best Of Beck on MUZU.TV.

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as hosting interviews for the weekly XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.