Twin Atlantic Announce New Single ‘EX EL’ + 3 Nights at Glasgow Barrowlands in December

Twin Atlantic Announce New Single ‘EX EL’ + 3 Nights at Glasgow Barrowlands in December

Twin Atlantic have become the alternative rock band of the moment with the release of their Top 10, critically acclaimed new album ‘GLA’. Their performance on Later With Jools Holland and their triumphant UK tour has shown them to be one of the UK’s best live acts. The band now head to Europe on tour and return to play 3 nights at Glasgow Barrowlands from 13th-15th December.

Ex El is the new single to be released from ‘GLA’. A stand out track on the album it is the most personal to Sam McTrusty who said:

“It is about some personal pain that I've suppressed for my whole life, that I have tried to deal with through art for the past 10 years… music, film, art whatever it is. In the studio when I sang these notes and screamed, something happened. This song and these lyrics made it all go away. It’s a song about finding empowerment. Ownership. It’s the first song where I finally used my true voice, the inner me, the real me.”

‘GLA’ was written in Glasgow, and the band - bassist Ross McNae, drummer Craig Kneale, and guitarist Barry McKenna - repaired to Topanga Canyon in Los Angeles to record the album, working with Jacknife Lee (US, Snow Patrol, Two Door Cinema Club) who had previously produced some tracks for previous Top 10 album 'Great Divide' (2014). Under his direction, they eschewed old school recording techniques, taping their parts separately. This change in their recording process marked the grander ambitions of the new songs, while their dream mixer Alan Moulder (best known for his unforgettable work with Arctic Monkeys, Foals, Foo Fighters and My Bloody Valentine) came aboard to give the album the essential finishing touch.

‘GLA’ tracklisting:

1. Gold Elephant::Cherry Alligator

2. No Sleep

3. You Are The Devil

4. Overthinking

5. Ex El

6. Vahalla

7. I Am Alive

8. Whispers

9. A Scar To Hide

10. Missing Link

11. The Chaser

12. Mothertongue

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.