TRACK PREMIERE: Blinker The Star - 'Sweet Nothing' - Listen Now

TRACK PREMIERE: Blinker The Star - 'Sweet Nothing' - Listen Now

Today XS Noize is pleased to premiere 'Sweet Nothing' from Blinker the Star. Blinker the Star began as a lo-fi, one-man studio band (Jordon Zadorozny) turned slightly left of centre rock 3 piece, releasing two albums on A&M Records ("Blinker the Star" in 1995, "A Bourgeois Kitten" in 1996) and touring steadily for 3 years. In 1997, Zadorozny relocated from Montreal to Los Angeles to work with Courtney Love, helping craft songs for Hole's "Celebrity Skin" album. Making Los Angeles his home, Jordon began soaking up new influences all the while becoming progressively more fascinated with the production side of making music.

Signing with Dreamworks in 1999, the band, now featuring Zadorozny, former Failure drummer Kellii Scott, longtime bassist Pete Frolander and a broadcast of Southern California studio talent, recorded and released "August Everywhere" to warm critical reception, touring North America and touring with Our Lady Peace, Sloan, Failure and the Flaming Lips.

Returning to his native Pembroke, Ontario in 2002, Jordon built his first commercial recording studio and began work with Sam Roberts, producing and drumming on his breakthrough debut EP "The Inhuman Condition" as well as recording projects with Melissa Auf Der Maur, Chris Cornell, Lindsey Buckingham, and others.

With ex-Failure drummer Kellii Scott in Pembroke over the winter months of 2003, Blinker the Star, now a recording duo, recorded the "Still In Rome" LP. Following a brief tour, Zadorozny settled into studio life and on collaborative projects such as Digital Noise Academy, SheLoom, Abbey, and The Angry Moon. Production work for a broad array of artists kept the studio and Jordon busy for the time.

Returning in 2012, again as a single person studio unit, the "We Draw Lines" LP was released, followed quickly with another full length in 2013 titled "Songs From Laniakea Beach". A stand-alone single, "Future Fires" arrived shortly after and the 5 song EP "11235" appeared in the fall of 2015. The latest release, "8 Of Hearts" followed in 2017. His new album ' Careful With Your Magic' is out September 20th.

“Sweet Nothing” was written by myself and my good friend Bob Wilcox. The song started as an instrumental track that I completed where I was sort of aiming for a Thompson Twins vibe. Bob heard the music and immediately had melodic and lyrical ideas. Although Bob wrote all of the words, I feel he was tuning into some things that were happening in my life that made it quite easy for me to get behind when the time came to sing it."

Listen to 'Sweet Nothing' - BELOW:

Social Media:
Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as hosting interviews for the weekly XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.