TOM MORELLO releases new single “Driving To Texas” featuring Phantogram

TOM MORELLO releases new single “Driving To Texas” featuring Phantogram
Credit Travis Shinn

Rock & Roll icon and two-time Grammy winner Tom Morello has today released a brand-new single “Driving To Texas” featuring Phantogram from his recently announced album The Atlas Underground Fire, out October 15th. 

“I’d worked with Josh from Phantogram on my first Atlas Underground album and I was thrilled when he and Sarah reached out about collaborating on this record. This song is creepy as hell – a dark journey, a struggle for a tortured soul. The guitar solo needed to feel like a vengeful angel who has come down to decide the fate of the protagonist. Will they descend into the abyss or will they find redemption? “Driving To Texas,” really shows the breadth of the music you’ll hear on this record. Sarah has one of the most haunting and beautiful voices of anyone singing today, and Josh’s production is stylistically so fresh and eerie,” said Tom Morello.

Listen to “Driving To Texas” featuring Phantogram – BELOW:

Morello – co-founder of Rage Against The Machine, Audioslave and Prophets of Rage – will release his forthcoming album The Atlas Underground Fire on October 15 via Mom + Pop Music. The album’s first single was the classic rock AC/DC rock anthem “Highway to Hell” featuring Morello, Bruce Springsteen and Eddie Vedder which debuted at #1 on Classic Rock radio. Featuring an amazing cast of collaborators including Bruce Springsteen, Eddie Vedder, Chris Stapleton, Mike Posner, Damian Marley and more, Morello’s remarkable guitar playing will be on full display, taking the instrument into the future and forging an alternative/rock/EDM masterpiece with all-time legends and cutting-edge firebrands.

Tom Morello is widely known as a ground-breaking guitarist who continues to push the limits and prove the transformative power of music. Throughout his remarkable career, Morello has collaborated with everyone from Wu Tang Clan to Johnny Cash. On The Atlas Underground Fire, as he did in 2018’s The Atlas Underground, Morello took a path into new sonic territory with the project’s breadth of talented collaborators, transforming his sound. With his guitar leading the way, Morello continues to create powerful mixtures of different genres.

The Atlas Underground Fire Track Listing:

Harlem Hellfighter
Highway to Hell (featuring Bruce Springsteen and Eddie Vedder)
Let’s Get The Party Started (featuring Bring Me The Horizon)
Driving to Texas (featuring Phantogram)
The War Inside (featuring Chris Stapleton)
Hold The Line (featuring grandson)
Naraka (featuring Mike Posner)
The Achilles List (featuring Damian Marley)
Night Witch (featuring phem)
Charmed I’m Sure (featuring Protohype)
Save Our Souls (featuring Dennis Lyxzén of Refused)
On The Shore Of Eternity (featuring Sama’ Abdulhadi)

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.