THE ORDINARY BOYS – Announce New Self Titled Album


After a break of nearly 10 years, The Ordinary Boys are back with their most definitive album to date. Lead single ‘Four Letter Word’ is a soaring, energy driven statement of intent reminiscent of their 2004 Top 20 debut ‘Over The Counter Culture’. Hear it here BELOW:

A return to their former sound is no surprise, since the reformed line-up consists of the original trio – Preston, James Gregory (bass) and Charlie ‘Chuck’ Stanley (drums) – plus new member Louis Jones from celebrated power-pop band Spectrals on guitar. Preston met Louis stage-diving at a Cribs gig and, “knew immediately that I wanted him to be my new best friend/collaborator.”

[soundcloud url=”″ params=”color=ff5500&auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_comments=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false” width=”100%” height=”166″ iframe=”true” /]

Over the last year they have been busy writing and recording their new album and have enlisted Rory Atwell (the Vaccines, Veronica Falls) and MJ (of Hookworms) on production duties and Dan Lancaster (Bring Me The Horizon, Lower Than Atlantis) for mixing.

After a brief stint in the limelight following his appearance on Celebrity Big Brother in 2006, Preston has spent the last 8 years building a solid reputation as a successful songwriter, having written hits for John Newman, Nas, Example and a Number One for Olly Murs with ‘Heart Skips A Beat’.

However, as fulfilling as his “day job” is, Preston says, “hanging out with Louis, all we wanted to talk about were the punk and hardcore bands that had made us pick up guitars and form bands in the first place. I made Spinal Tap-esque phone calls to James and Chuck. After promising several times that it wouldn’t sound anything like the questionable third album, we met for some beers and started rehearsing. We were 15 again.” That ‘questionable’ third album ‘How To Get Everything You Ever Wanted In Ten Easy Steps’ scored the band three Top 10 hits in 2006. Its predecessor, 2005’s ‘Brassbound’, was also a Top 20 hit, as was its lead single ‘Boys Will Be Boys’, which was re-issued in 2006 and went to No.1 in the UK charts.

” We think we have made a really special, exciting record,” Preston says. “One that has been fuelled by reunited childhood friendships, new friendships, rediscovery of the records that shaped us, and the drive to create something undeniably great. I’ve had the best year of my life making this album and we are so excited to finally be able to share it!”

The band have just announced a 27-date UK tour for this October and November, which includes the Brixton Jamm, London on 30th October. Details below.


About Tonight
Four Letter Word
I’m Leaving You (And I’m Taking You With Me)
Losing My Cool
Panic Attack
Do Or Die
Almost Ready
Putting My Heart On The Line
Disposable Anthem


21st Oct The Cavern Exeter
22nd Oct The Fleece Bristol
23rd Oct Also Known As Banbury
24th Oct The Joiners Southampton
25th Oct Bowery District Reading
27th Oct The Haunt Brighton
28th Oct Mr Kyps Bournemouth
29th Oct The Bullingdon Oxford
30th Oct Brixton Jamm London
31st Oct The Square Harlow
1st Nov Waterfront Norwich
3rd Nov Copper Room2 Coventry
4th Nov Soundhouse Leicester
5th Nov The Globe Cardiff
6th Nov Live Room Chester
7th Nov The Sugarmill Stoke
8th Nov Night & Day Manchester
10th Nov The Old Courts Wigan
11th Nov Think Tank Newcastle
12th Nov Liquid Rooms Edinburgh
13th Nov PJ Molloys Dunfermline
14th Nov King Tuts Glasgow
15th Nov The Duchess York
16th Nov The Hop Wakefield
17th Nov The Adelphi Hull
18th Nov The Platform Lincoln
19th Nov The Plug Sheffield

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as hosting interviews for the weekly XS Noize Podcast.Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.