THE ORB announce new single and video “Rush Hill Road” featuring Hollie Cook

THE ORB announce new single and video "Rush Hill Road" featuring Hollie Cook

As part of their 30th-anniversary celebrations and in anticipation of their forthcoming album, veteran electronic gods THE ORB are delighted to announce new single “Rush Hill Road”. With vocals from rising reggae star Hollie Cook, the single is a classic dub-house-ska throbber, which continues in their long tradition of Battersea references, and also features Brixton roots hero Brother Culture.

The “Rush Hill Road” video was directed by Gary Oldknow aka deepvisual, who not only provided visuals at seminal UK acid house nights Shoom, Land Of Oz and Spectrum, but has since worked with David Bowie, The Pet Shop Boys and Johnny Cash.

Check out the video for  “Rush Hill Road” featuring Hollie Cook – BELOW:

The Orb recently announced new album No Sounds Are Out Of Bounds, which as the title suggests finds them embracing an anything-goes new approach to creative freedom. It will be released via Cooking Vinyl on June 22, 2018.

Refreshing and reinventing the predominantly two-man set up with Thomas Fehlmann on the prior two albums, No Sounds… is intentionally an ensemble piece. Alex Paterson, Fehlmann, Youth, Roger Eno, Hollie Cook and Guy Pratt from Pink Floyd all take star turns, as does master bassist Jah Wobble, who returns to the fold following bassbin-bullying anthem “Blue Room”.

The Orb also recently announced they’d perform a 30th anniversary classics set at ORBFEST – their own all-day indoor festival at UK’s The Roundhouse on June 23rd, which also features GAS, Ulrich Schnauss and System Seven live, plus a DJ set by Leftfield. Click here for tickets to the UK event.

Release date: June 22, 2018
Track Listing

1. ‘The End of the End’
2. ‘Wish I Had a Pretty Dog’
3. ‘Rush Hill Road’
4. ‘Pillow Fight @ Shag Mountain’
5. ‘Isle of Horns’
6. ‘Wolfbane’
7. ‘Other Blue Worlds’
8. ‘Doughnuts Forever’
9. ‘Drift’
10. ‘Easy On the Onions’
11. ‘Ununited States’
12. ‘Soul Planet’

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as hosting interviews for the weekly XS Noize Podcast.Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.