RICHARD HAWLEY cleans the streets of Sheffield in the video for new single ‘Prism In Jeans’

Richard Hawley
Richard Hawley photographed in Sheffield by Dean Chalkley

Today Richard Hawley released the video for his new single, ‘Prism In Jeans’. The video was filmed in the centre of Hawley’s beloved Sheffield, in the shadow of the Moore Street Substation, which features prominently on the sleeve of his upcoming album, ‘In This City They Call You Love’.

In the video a group of students from Sheffield’s Bailey-Cox Dance Academy joyfully dance around with colourful scarves to represent the prism mentioned in the song while a recognisable workman in the distance arrives to sit down on a nearby bench and watch this spectacle.

‘Prism In Jeans’ is vintage Hawley, a gorgeous song evoking his great love and well springs of inspiration of the ghostly remembered sound of transatlantic rock and roll before The Beatles ushered in the rock era.

“I love the music of that pre-Beatle era. The Tornadoes Telstar and The Shadows,” says Richard. “That kind of far-off netherworld. I’ve always loved that time whether it’s cool to or not. As a song, it’s about someone who is like a rainbow in a very confined space. A Prism in Jeans.”

The song is from the forthcoming album In This City They Call You Love, released on 31 May. The album features 12 outstanding songs, which are amongst some of the finest ballads Hawley has ever written and recorded. Sumptuous melodies and arrangements are accompanied by Hawley’s emotive and sonorous voice, which sounds better than ever, on an album that further confirms his place as one of the finest songwriters of his generation, in a hugely successful recording career approaching 25 years.

The album’s title is taken from the song ‘People’, which might well be the greatest song Hawley has written about his beloved Sheffield, the city’s proud industrial past and the enduring determination of its citizens.

“I’ve made three albums where I had the title before I’d even begun to record, where I had an agenda. One was Truelove’s Gutter. Another was Standing At The Sky’s Edge when I wanted to turn everything up and make the music a lot more aggressive, and then this one. I wanted it to be multi-coloured in a way… focusing on the voice and what voices can do together… I deliberately only played a handful of guitar solos to keep it focused on voices, the song and space…” – Richard Hawley.

In This City They Call You Love will be released on 31 May.


1. Two For His Heels

2. Have Love

3. Prism In Jeans

4. Heavy Rain

5. People

6. Hear That Lonesome Whistle Blow

7. Deep Space

8. Deep Waters

9. I’ll Never Get Over You

10. Do I Really Need To Know?

11. When The Lights Go Out

12. ‘Tis Night

In This City They Call You Love

Richard will be touring Ireland and the UK from the 24 May:

24 May 3 Olympia Theatre, Dublin

24 May 3 Olympia Theatre, Dublin

2 June Barrowland, Glasgow

3 June Usher Hall, Edinburgh

5 June De Montfort Hall, Leicester

6 June Bristol Beacon

8 June Eventim Apollo, London

9 June Brighton Dome, Brighton

11 June The Wulfrun Halls, Wolverhampton

12 June 02 Apollo, Manchester

13 June The Glasshouse International Centre of Music, Gateshead

15 June Olympia, Liverpool

16 June Norwich Nick Raysn LCR UEA, Norwich

18 June Guildhall, Portsmouth

20 June Scarborough Spa, Scarborough

16 August Beautiful Days Festival

29 August Don Valley Bowl, headline show with special guests, Sheffield

29-31 August End of The Road Festival


Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as hosting interviews for the weekly XS Noize Podcast.Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.