New Order are very pleased to announce they have signed a worldwide deal with Mute, and that their next release will be on the legendary independent label.

Speaking about the signing Daniel Miller explains: “This is an exciting new chapter for both Mute and New Order and I feel privileged to be working with artists with such a long, creative and successful history. When the possibility of us working together first came up, I was invited to hear some of the new material and immediately had no doubts whatsoever that Mute would be the right home for New Order. We’ve already had a number of creative conversations, and I am looking towards an exciting future”.

New Order are similarly thrilled with their new home “New Order are delighted to be signing to Mute. We couldn’t imagine a better place to be than working with Daniel Miller and his team. Mute has a superb roster of artists and a history that complements our own. In many ways joining the label feels like we are coming home, returning to our independent roots.”

Forming in 1980 out of the ashes of Manchester band Joy Division, New Order have released a total of nine studio and two live albums, starting with their debut single ‘Ceremony’ on Factory Records in 1981. Thus starting a career as iconic as it has been influential.

2014 has seen the band play for the Tibet House charity at New York’s Carnegie Hall, curated by Philip Glass. They performed Joy Division classics, ‘Love Will Tear Us Apart’ and ‘Transmission’ with Iggy Pop, alongside never played live New Order track ‘Californian Grass’ from their 2013 release Lost Sirens.

They toured South America in April 2014, playing at Lollapolooza, then headed to the US for a hugely well received run of dates, airing several new tracks to rapturous reception. New Order will soon return to the studio to continue working on new material.

Founded in 1978 by Daniel Miller, Mute has signed and developed an amazing array of innovative artists, including Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds, Depeche Mode, Plastikman and Moby. The current roster includes Goldfrapp, Erasure, Plastikman, Liars, Can and Cabaret Voltaire, alongside newer signings such as Zola Jesus, Swans, Ben Frost, Big Deal, Land Observations, Cold Specks, Diamond Version and Maps.

[soundcloud url=”″ params=”auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_comments=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false&visual=true” width=”100%” height=”450″ iframe=”true” /]

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as hosting interviews for the weekly XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.