MARK LANEGAN Shares ‘Playing Nero’ The new single from upcoming album Somebody’s Knocking – Listen Now

MARK LANEGAN Shares 'Playing Nero' The new single from upcoming album Somebody's Knocking - Listen Now 2

Having last month announced their October–released new album Somebody’s Knocking via the addictive and uptempo “Stitch It Up”, Mark Lanegan Band have today shared a more wistful, downtempo track from the LP entitled “Playing Nero”. Of the track, Lanegan says: “Sietse van Gorkom, who has been an important part of my creative circle since 2013, writing charts and playing strings as well as touring and writing with me on occasion, sent me the music for this tune. I wrote the words in twenty minutes, having just received some unhappy news that informed the lyrics and began a healing process.”

From the opening bars of Disbelief Suspension onwards, it’s clear that Somebody’s Knocking is an album made by someone deeply obsessed with how music – with all its primal, spiritual healing power – truly penetrates the soul. As a result, there’s joy in the music, as if created from a perfect set of inspirations smashed and grabbed from God’s own record shop.

Some of the influences are oblique, others direct and fully respectful. From the Raw Power-esque garage metal grind of that opener to Letter Never Sent’s rocket-powered take on Love-era kaleidoscope-psych, through the pensive subterranean murk of Dark Disco Jag and on to Playing Nero’s sun-bleached riff on Joy Division’s Atmosphere, there’s the glee of infatuation running deep in the tracks. And, in some ways, that display of infatuation serves to change the very perception of Lanegan the artist – this album being less the tale of a brooding, crepuscular rock’n’roll veteran and more that of someone consumed by a lifelong love of words and sound fused together.

With that perception shift in mind, one of the most remarkable moments on Somebody’s Knocking is Penthouse High – a track that positively blooms, sounding like a love letter to imperial phase New Order. For Lanegan, it signals a return to one of his formative musical loves from a time even before he joined Screaming Trees.

“I’ve always been into electronic music since I was a kid,” he says. “I think the reason those elements have become more obvious in my music is that my tastes have changed as I’ve grown older. The bulk of what I listen to now is electronic. Alain Johannes and I had actually written Penthouse High for Gargoyle (the 2017 album the Guardian stated saw “Lanegan in the form of his career”) but then it didn’t really fit on that record. I have been a huge fan of New Order and Depeche Mode forever and have wanted to do a song along those lines for a long time – a blatantly catchy, old-school dance-type song.”

Listen to ‘Playing Nero’ – BELOW:

Although Somebody’s Knocking came together in an 11 day session in L.A. (Lanegan’s hometown of the last 22 years), many of the deepest musical influences on the record are European – be they the aforementioned electronic artists or newer, murkier forms provided by writing partners Martin Jenkins (who records as Pye Corner Audio) or Rob Marshall – a collaborator on Gargoyle and on his own, forthcoming debut album as Humanist. In each case, Lanegan approached working with each of the writers from the perspective of a fan.

Lyrically, Somebody’s Knocking sets the listener off down multiple rabbit holes, painting deeply psychedelic pictures where someone’s “drip, drip, dripping acid out of the dropper” (Disbelief Suspension) or where “the hounds are behind me/footsteps following/you know you can’t find me/I’m miles from the crime scene” on the monumentally addictive Stitch It Up.

While on the whole, interpretations are left for the listener to decide on, there are aspects of the real world that can’t help but seep subconsciously into Lanegan’s songs: “It seems to me that the entire world is in a weird, precarious place right now. I try to not be someone in a constant state of worry and alarm but watching the massive divide that is taking place and the political situations, especially in the US and UK makes me think, “what the fuck are these idiots thinking?” The hatred, racism and all this other fear-driven shit, these “adults” that continually drive the machine that perpetuates this ignorance to their own ends should all be in prison cells instead of the non-violent drug “offenders” in them now. I can’t specifically say how any of this effects my writing but I know that most of the things that occupy my thoughts have a way of coming back out in a song.”

At the end of the day though, Somebody’s Knocking doesn’t need to be either commentary or allegory. Like Lanegan’s best work, it tells its own stories and weaves its own wonders, conjuring up feverish hallucinogenic visions to sit atop roughly hewn rock and glassy, brilliant bright electronics. And then it leaves them to penetrate their own ways right down to our deepest, darkest roots.

Mark Lanegan Band have just completed an extensive tour of the US. The band will take to the road again in the Autumn for a European tour which reaches the UK for the below dates.

Tuesday 10th December – LONDON – Roundhouse

Wednesday 11th December – BRISTOL – SWX

Friday 13th December – SHEFFIELD – Leadmill

Saturday 14th December – EDINBURGH – Liquid Rooms

Sunday 15th December – MANCHESTER – Ritz

Tuesday 17th December – DUBLIN – Button Factory

Wednesday 18th December – BELFAST – Empire Music Hall

Somebody’s Knocking

Somebody’s Knocking will be released 18th October via Heavenly Recordings.

Somebody’s Knocking tracklist:

1. Disbelief Suspension

2. Letter Never Sent

3. Night Flight To Kabul

4. Dark Disco Jag

5. Gazing From The Shore

6. Stitch It Up

7. Playing Nero

8. Penthouse High

9. Paper Hat

10. Name and Number

11. War Horse

12. Radio Silence

13. She Loved You

14. Two Bells Ringing At Once

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as hosting interviews for the weekly XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.