Following last year’s single ‘Groove It Out’, LoneLady (AKA Julie Campbell) can now announce her new album: Hinterland. Her second full length album will be released on 23rd March and follows 2010’s Nerve Up.

Hinterland (literally ''the country behind'' in German) conjures impressions of decayed Manchester outskirts and reclusive inner landscapes obsessively throughout the record, as Campbell continues her fascination with the post-industrial ruinscape. At its core beats an uncomplicated drum machine rhythm and synthetic percussion that recalls fractured memories of minimal wave and even early techno and dance, dynamically spliced through with Campbell's intricate, choppy and propulsive guitar playing.

With longer, exploratory songs full of inventive twists and turns, the album expands the stark palette of its predecessor, 2010's ''Nerve Up'' into more colourful territories, with a funk influence emerging;

Campbell: “It’s channelling Parliament/Funkadelic, Stevie Wonder, Rufus, Prince, Arthur Russell…among others. A strange - but nonetheless real - meeting of funk and…me from Audenshaw, Manchester.”

All underpinned by an urgent post-punk sensibility, as Campbell describes it - 'an inescapably cement-coloured North of England psyche. ''

Performing guitar, keyboards, cello, vocals, using drum machines, drumpads and more, Campbell recorded, mixed and produced the material for her new album in her home studio, Concrete Retreat. She then travelled to an industrial region of Michigan to complete the production with Bill Skibbe (Austra, The Kills, The Dead Weather) at Keyclub Recording Co., a treasure trove of classic synths, drum machines and a 70's Flickinger console that had one previous owner - Sly Stone.

Campbell: “I found it a totally sympathetic environment to be in and found a shared aesthetic in Bill; I felt he'd sensitively aid the finishing of the songs and not disrupt their character. We'd often dig out Youtube clips for the other to enjoy; including Sharevari at The Scene, the frazzled Loopzilla, John Carpenter's Assault On Precinct 13 and more…''

Stream 'Bunkerpop' below:

[soundcloud url="https://api.soundcloud.com/tracks/187123748" params="auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_comments=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false&visual=true" width="100%" height="450" iframe="true" /]

Bunkerpop’ is out on 12” on 23rd February.

Hinterland tracklist

01. Into The Cave

02. Bunkerpop

03. Hinterland

04. Groove It Out

05. (I Can See) Landscapes

06. Silvering

07. Flee!

08. Red Scrap

09. Mortar Remembers You

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.