JON FRATELLI announces new solo album ‘Bright Night Flowers’ Released 15th February 2019

JON FRATELLI announces new solo album ‘Bright Night Flowers’ Released 15th February 2019

Jon Fratelli – Multi-instrumentalist, singer, songwriter and frontman from The Fratellis announces details of a new solo album. ‘Bright Night Flowers’ will be released on the 15th February 2019 via Cooking Vinyl. The album’s title song ‘Bright Night Flowers’ will be made available as an instant grat from today and you can listen to the track below.

The album was recorded in Scotland during the summer of 2018 and was self-produced with the help of a long-term friend, musician and producer Stuart McCredie (Simple Minds, Echo & The Bunny Men, Belle & Sebastian and The Fratellis)

Straight off the back of the last Fratellis album, Jon’s solo material displays a more down-tempo melodic side to his songwriting and with echoes of Glen Campbell, Roy Orbison and even Tom Waits, this perfectly-assembled, finely-wrought, nine-track album showcases something very special from his art.

Soul-noir, country gothic, The Big ‘O’ meets The Big Easy, the Heart of Saturday Night meets the West End of Glasgow…Call it what you will, Jon’s second solo ‘joint’ is a little masterpiece and a refreshing change of pace from his previous work.

Watch the video for the title track ‘Bright Night Flowers’ – BELOW:

The track listing for ‘Bright Night Flowers’ is as follows –

1.    Serenade In Vain

2.    Bright Night Flowers

3.    After A While

4.    Evangeline

5.    Rolling By

6.    Crazy Lovers Song

7.    Dreams Don’t Remember

8.    In From The Cold

9.    Somewhere

Jon talks about the making of the album by saying “Almost all of these songs were written on the piano, which is fairly obvious on first listen. It seemed like the most natural counterpoint to the last album: to move away from fairly loud and colourful songs – some of which were built from mash-ups of various ideas – to something gentle that rolled with a bit more fluidity.” and continues to say ““I’d describe this album as playful as well, actually!” he says with a smile. “Heartbreak and emotional pain can also be playful when you know that they’re not to be taken too seriously. Equally, you can’t know pleasure without its opposite. In that respect, black is equally as joyful as white. Life would be very dull if happiness was the only experience, wouldn’t it?”

You can also catch Jon Fratelli live in 2018 at the following UK shows :

21st  February – London  – Bush Hall

22nd February – Glasgow – King Tuts



Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.