JOHN MCCULLAGH & THE ESCORTS:  to play prestigious London live headline debut

After having caused a splash with his debut album ‘North South Divide’ in autumn 2013, Doncaster’s highly acclaimed teenage troubadour John McCullagh and his newly formed band The Escorts are back with a brand new album ‘New Born Cry’, produced by the talented John Power (Cast). This second album includes previous singles ‘Towerland Lullaby’ and a remixed version of ‘Box Of Tricks’, as well as forthcoming single ‘She’s Calling Me’. Boasting a much fuller sound than before, with some catchy Byrds-ish guitars, ‘She’s Calling Me’ is set to be the first single.

Influenced by the likes of Donovan, Marc Bolan, Paul Weller and Johnny Cash, McCullagh has been playing guitar and writing songs since he was twelve, and his latent talent for his beloved six-string was soon followed by mastery of the harmonica. When McCullagh was just fifteen years old, he became one of the first signings to music industry legend Alan McGee’s label, 359 Music.

In addition, John toured for most of 2013-2014, opening for the likes of The Strypes, Alabama 3, The Enemy, Richard Hawley and most recently the iconic Cast. His raw ability belies his age, leaving audiences captivated by the profound maturity in his performances. Richard Hawley said, “John is a real talent, I'd happily take him on tour with me in the future. The real deal", while The Strypes’ lead guitarist Josh McClorey said of McCullagh, “ Really fantastic to see somebody playing primal music with such energy and enthusiasm – watch this space!"

Set to be released on 4th May, the album will be supported by a national tour starting on 26 th March in Leeds.


4 th April 2015 – This Feeling, The Macbeth, London
10 th April 2015 – King Tuts, Glasgow
17 th April 2015 – Café Drummonds, Aberdeen
17 th April 2015 – Night & Day, Manchester
18 th April 2015: The Exchange, Stoke
24 th April 2015 – The Spread Eagle, York
25 th Avril 2015 – Newhampton Arts Centre, Wolverhampton
1 st May 2014 – The Rainbow, Birmingham

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.