JAMIROQUAI announces 'Travelling Without Moving' (25th anniversary edition)

JAMIROQUAI announces 'Travelling Without Moving' (25th anniversary edition)

In celebration of the 25th anniversary of Jamiroquai’s huge third album ‘Travelling Without Moving’, it is to be reissued as a double heavyweight 180g yellow vinyl set with a new updated cover for 2021 and brand-new sleeve notes from the band’s frontman and creative force, Jay Kay.

Set for release on December 17th 2021 through Sony Music, this edition includes a Dimitri From Paris Remix Radio Edit of ‘Cosmic Girl’, previously only available physically in very limited numbers on Dimitri From Paris’ own label, Le-Edits Records. The package also includes a unique download code for the album.

Originally released in September 1996, ‘Travelling Without Moving’ is one of Jamiroquai’s most popular albums and is considered the best-selling funk album of all time, selling in excess of 8 million copies to date. A timeless classic, the album features seminal hits such as ‘Virtual Insanity’ and ‘Cosmic Girl’, the former of which catapulted the band to global success, cementing them as one of the UK’s most important and successful bands internationally.

Now, 25+ years on from when the band entered the studio to create the record, the inspiration and messaging in the music still stands true and could be argued to have even greater meaning today. Considering it was written at a time when the internet was just starting out, a decade before social media took a grip of society and smartphones were a thing of sci-fi movies, the chorus of ‘Virtual Insanity’ really strikes a chord - “Future's made of virtual insanity now, Always seem to, be governed by this love we have, For useless, twisting, our new technology, Oh, now there is no sound - for we all live underground”.

As Jay Kay mentions in the incredibly insightful new liner notes… “The world is different now – scary military A.I. machines, crackpot multi-billionaires, a world that seems to be run by giant tech companies.”

“I’m not sure how much this is going forwards, it seems to be going backwards in a lot of senses, and I can’t see us lasting a thousand more years, with mass over population and total destruction of our forests and oceans and the wasting of all our natural resources, fueling massive machines of war, for the sake of pointless posturing by tyrannical, corrupt leaders.”

He summarises perfectly by saying… “In the end we are most definitely all just TRAVELLING WITHOUT MOVING.”

To this day, the band’s sound is unquestionably unique and they remain hugely influential to contemporary artists including Dua Lipa, Thundercat, J Dilla, Madlib, Justice, Tyler the Creator and Calvin Harris among others. ‘Travelling Without Moving’ is certified as a multi-platinum and gold selling album throughout the world, including platinum by the RIAA in the US, and quadruple platinum in the UK. The album and its associated singles picked up a glut of accolades including ten nominations and four award wins at the 1997 MTV Video Music Awards and a Grammy Awards in 1998 for Best Pop Performance by a Duo or Group with Vocals.



1 Virtual Insanity

2 Cosmic Girl

3 Use the Force

4 Everyday


1 Alright

2 High Times

3 Drifting Along

4 Didjerama


1 Didjital Vibrations

2 Travelling Without Moving

3 You Are My Love

4 Spend a Lifetime


1 Do You Know Where You're Coming From?

2 Funktion (Ruff Mix)

3 Cosmic Girl (Dimitri From Paris Remix Radio Edit)

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.