Toronto trio Elliott BROOD are gearing up to release their highly anticipated new album, ‘Work and Love’ (Paper Bag Records), the album is the follow-up to ‘Days Into Years’, which won a Juno Award in 2013 for Roots & Traditional Album of the Year. For ‘Work and Love’, Elliott BROOD withdrew to a farmhouse in Bath, Ontario where they recorded nine songs in two weeks with producer Ian Blurton (The Weakerthans, Amy Millan) – their first time working with an outside producer. The result is their most personal and urgent album to date, with rock influences that nod as much to Neil Young & Crazy Horse, as much as Richard Buckner and Whiskeytown.

Seattle radio giant, KEXP recently premiered “Jigsaw Heart,” the first new song ‘Work and Love,’ calling it the bands “most adventurous album to date”

On ‘Work and Love,’ Elliott BROOD’s two songwriters Casey Laforet and Mark Sasso decided to mine the bare histories of their own lives: penning verses about the ends of relationships and the tests of adulthood, long drives, childhood retreating in a rear-view mirror. ‘Work and Love’ also serves as a eulogy for the moments on the doorstep of manhood: first loves, lost loves, and young men’s just desserts.

Select tracks on the album feature Aaron Goldstein (City and Colour) on pedal steel and John Dinsmore (Kathleen Edwards, Sarah Harmer) on bass. ‘Work and Love’ is Elliott BROOD at their sheerest, facing forward and backward at the same time.

Elliott BROOD have confirmed pre-release shows at NYC’s Rockwood Music Hall on 17th September 2014, D.C’s Black Cat Backstage on 18th September 2014, and the Bristol Rhythm and Roots Reunion in Bristol, TN on 20-21st September 2014 (full schedule below). More dates will soon be announced.

Elliott BROOD are:

• Casey Laforet (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, bass pedals, bass guitar, mandolin, banjo, lap steel, vocals)
• Mark Sasso (banjo, guitar, harmonica, vocals)
• Stephen Pitkin (percussion, drums, piano, vocals)

Track Listing:

1. Little Ones
2. Nothing Left
3. Tired
4. Taken
5. Mission Bell
6. Jigsaw Heart
7. Each Other’s Kids
8. Better Times
9. End of the Day

Elliott BROOD Tour Dates:

04/11/2014 – Hamburg (DE) @ Astra Stube
07/11/2014 – Suffolk (UK) @ The Bank Eye
12/11/2014 – Deventer (NL) @ Burgerweeshuis
13/11/2014 – Amsterdam (NL) @ Paradiso
14/11/2014 – Borger (NL) @ VanSlag
15/11/2014 – Ottersum (NL) @ Roepean

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.